I am bored. And not wise anymore. Just kidding, I only got my wisdom teeth out today. But I wasn't lying about the bored. I can't eat anything unless it's soft, so right now I'm eating yoghurt and I am not a big fan of yoghurt. And I'm supposed to ice the sides of my mouth on and off every 20 minutes, but I have been slacking a bit in between because the ice packs don't last very long and I figure they'll freeze a little more if they are in the freezer longer.
What I REALLY WANT is a Frosty from Wendy's. But I can wait awhile. Maybe I'll tell my mom to get me one on her way home from work, but that would be out of the way, and I don't want it to melt too much on the way home, so I should probably go too.
Right now I'm also listening to Brooke White's myspace. She was one of my favorites on American Idol last season (2008, I didn't watch the 2009 one since I was at college). I think "Love is a Battlefield" is my favorite of hers, even though it's not the full length of the song and I think it might be the recording from AI, but it's still good. But I haven't listened to enough of her own songs to decide for sure.
I also wanted to talk about my mosquito bites. Working at Aunt G's picking weeds is not really too bad of a job, except it gets hot and sweaty and I smell horrible after, but the worst part by far is the mosquito bites. For some reason, I have only about 2 on my whole right side, and maybe 13 on my left side if I had to guess. It's probably my fault for not wearing bug spray, but honestly, I don't know if I believe how much that stuff works anyways.
Here's to hoping that my mouth heals enough by the time we go up north next week! Maybe my stomach will shrink before then if I'm lucky. It's not that I want to be a skinny little thing, I just don't want other people to have to look at my ugly bulging stomach all week, since I'm going to be wearing a bikini. Why are bikinis cool anyway? I don't get it.
Song of the day: End of an Era by Oliver Boyd and the Remembralls
(I'll probably use this song again someday for a real end of an era, it is SO GOOD! But it got in my head. Note to self: he kinda sounds like James Morrison I think.)
P.S. I can't believe it's the last day of June already!
Tuesday, June 30, 2009
Me wants a Frosty!
Posted by tranquilily at 5:50 PM 0 comments
Thursday, June 25, 2009
R.I.P. and Thunderstorms
It's been awhile since my last blog, and I've been telling myself I would get around to it for a couple weeks, having been journaling more instead of blogging, but today I couldn't pass it up. There was just too much that happened. Michael Jackson trending topics on twitter beat out the Iran Election! It's funny how death can be so sudden and you never expect a tragedy, but then Michael Jackson just stops breathing. And of course, Farrah Fawcett, but she has had cancer for 3 years, so it's not as surprising.
And possibly coincidental (?) there was a HUGE thunderstorm today. It was pouring in sheets and trees fell on houses (luckily not mine) and we have leaves all over our backyard from the wind knocking them off of the giant tree next door. I really wanted to go outside and dance in the rain and get soaked, and just enjoy the thunderstorm, it seemed so spectacular, but the city's warning sirens started going off so my mom told me to go in the basement, and I did even though I wanted to at least watch. My poor kitty was out in the rain, probably hiding under the back steps so she didn't get wet, because she knew if she did she would be soaked. Later it rained a little lighter and I went out and got her.
The thunderstorm also caused a power outage at my grandma's apartment so she is staying here for the night, in my bed, so I have to sleep in Johnny's room. I don't mind, but I really should be in bed right now since I have to get up in about 7 hours to go to my aunt's and clear more overgrown weeds out of her garden. According to my mom, they should be easier to pull after the rain, so hopefully that's true.
On a completely unrelated note (though I'm sure I could relate it somehow if I cared enough to try), I'm really jealous that my brother got to go parasailing today in Florida. I really want to go parasailing!
More unrelated stuff I want to mention but I'm also tired and want sleep: I recently finished reading "My Sister's Keeper" the other day and it was a really good book. The reason I read it was because the movie is coming out, but now I don't know if I could even handle the movie, I would probably cry through the whole thing. Also, I haven't yet given up on "The Secret Life of the American Teenager" on ABC Family; I just can't give up my hope that maybe it will get better. Maybe they just have really good advertising. Okay, I think that's enough for tonight.
Song of the Day: Thriller by Michael Jackson
[EDIT:] And I also had to add another: Laughing With by Regina Spektor
Posted by tranquilily at 9:06 PM 0 comments
Sunday, June 14, 2009
Middle Earth.
I totally forgot yesterday to mention yesterday, we went to a little shop called "Middle Earth". Of course, anyone would expect it to be some eccentric geeky awesome Lord of the Rings store, but I was very disappointed when I went inside. It was cool and all, the name was just very misleading. They sold wrapping paper and knick-knacks and coffee mugs with sayings on them, and stuff like that. So anti-climactic.
Today is my cousin's birthday party and I'm gonna pig out on chips once again! I really need to stop eating so much, or start working out a lot more. Or both would be good too.
Song of the day: Josh Turner—Would You Go With Me
Posted by tranquilily at 3:38 PM 0 comments
Because of Wizard Rock.
Here is my "short story". I was going to write a real one, but I wimped out and only wrote about 2 paragraphs. But then last night, I was goofing off with Johnny and I just started writing down some ridiculous randomness that represents our conversations. That's one good thing about my brother, he brings out the crazy in me. The "why", "because of wizard rock" thing is because I showed him the Moaning Myrtles song "Transparent" and he was mad that I got it into his head, so now the answer to every question beginning with "why" is "because of wizard rock", and it's kind of a game. It makes sense if you listen to the song.
“Why?”
“Because of wizard rock.”
“Man, okay we’re still tied, but don’t worry, I’ll get you back my pretty, before the sun falls out of the sky” threatened Tess, turning into a wicked witch of the west.
*Mysterious evil laughter surrounds the brother and sister*
“Where did that evil laughter come from?” asked Jack.
“I don’t know,” replied Tess, “wanna play Tetris?”
“No are you crazy?!? The Red Wings still have to win the Stanley Cup!”
“Who cares about sports?”
“What an abomination! You know, you can’t go through life thinking everything’s all fine and dandy and mushrooms and pancakes” Jack retorted.
“Three…two…one…ZERO! Well, it’s over now, the Red Wings officially lost.”
*sobbing is heard from the corner of the room*
Waaaaaaaahhh why do they have to suck so bad? Waaaaahhhhhh”
“Because of wizard rock (*snickers*). But really, it’s alright. There’s always next year.”
“Darn.” *all signs of crying magically disappear*
“That’s right, you can’t fool me,” Tess cried victoriously.
“Fine, I’m gonna go eat a popsickle now.”
“Popsickles are so futuristic.”
“You spelled popsicles wrong.”
“How do you know, do we have a box of sugar-free Popsicle-brand popsicles to prove it?”
*Jack goes to freezer, snaps fingers, sugar-free Popsicle-brand popsicle box flies to front*
“Oh. I guess I have to change it now. And I’m sorry I didn’t take your word for it.”
*both take popsicles*
“Like really, though, why do you eat so many freakin’ popsicles a day? You’re like an addict.”
“I have a strict diet, 5 or more a day. I mean, I can’t disobey the doct-”
“YES I WINNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!” Tess cut him off, chortled at her cleverness and skipped off into the sunset.
...Yeah, so there it is. Weird, I know.
In other news, today I went to visit Emily at her aqua-colored apartment for a "potluck" along with a few rowers from the Ann Arbor area. The cat who belongs to the owner who she's subleasing from is so cute! Isn't Kiwi a cute name for a cat? I thought of another great cat name the other day, but unfortunately I forgot it, and I hope I remember it someday so I can write it down.
But anyways, we went (out the window) to Blimpy Burger, and the girl at the grill was SO ANGRY! And the condiment/topping guy was a jerk too. It was absolutely HILARIOUS! The deep-fryer guy was fine though. Apparently they have a very specific way of ordering stuff, but how was I supposed to know, it was my first time?!?! So when I said what kind of cheese I wanted before she cooked my burger, she freaked out. "You don't put cheese on RAW BURGERS!" I am so glad we went so I can treasure that memory for the rest of my life.
Posted by tranquilily at 12:45 AM 0 comments
Tuesday, June 9, 2009
I'm just a girl.
I kind of want to update my facebook profile with my "favorites" but I don't know why I should. To me, those things are special and set me apart, but when you really look at it and average out everyone's, they look all the same. I'm just a girl. Like it says in my blog description, "I'm just a girl wondering what to do with her life." That's so cliche. It basically describes every girl. I dunno, it doesn't matter though.
In other news, I'm trying to write a "short story" (it's going to end up very short) for my livejournal blog that I share with my friends. I don't have much creative writing experience on my own, just what I've done for English classes, so it was hard to start, but I think I have a vague idea now. I should write more often, then I could use up ideas and it would get easier too. So I might post that on here too when I am done.
Song of the day: Blue October--Into the Ocean
Posted by tranquilily at 1:20 PM 0 comments
Thursday, June 4, 2009
Artsy.
I don't really have much in mind to write about today. I have been feeling artsy lately. Like, I want to write, fiction and stuff, but I don't know how to start. I have always wanted to be good at writing, but I think I've always been too self-conscious and I don't have a big vocabulary or much imagination. So I decided to read instead. I never finished Anne of Green Gables, which my aunt gave me when I was younger, so I decided to start from the beginning. I also have to reread Harry Potter 2-6 before the 6th movie comes out July 15th. I recently read Sorcerer's Stone, and I can read Deathly Hallows after the movie. Anyways, I don't know why I am writing about such trivial things.
Today I went to downtown Detroit with some friends and we saw Caravan of Thieves perform, and it was pretty interesting. They are an "acoustic swing" band, a genre I've never heard of, but I enjoy acoustic stuff. They were really good and interesting, and I am listening to some songs on their website right now, deciding whether I should buy their CD on itunes.
I also tried to clean my room a little today. I haven't unpacked hardly anything since coming home from college, I have been so lazy. So mostly I put away a lot of clothes that were strewn about the floor, and now you can see a good deal more of it than before, which makes it easier to maneuver around without jumping over everything.
Song of the day: Freaks by Caravan of Thieves
Posted by tranquilily at 11:48 PM 0 comments
Wednesday, June 3, 2009
If I had a million dollars...
"We wouldn't have to eat Kraft dinner"
"But we would eat Kraft dinner"
"Of course we would, we'd just eat more, and buy really expensive ketchups with it"
"That's right, all the fanciest ketch--Dijon ketchups!"
"MMMM"
Posted by tranquilily at 9:53 AM 0 comments
Labels: ...I'd buy your loooove
Monday, June 1, 2009
I wish there were undo/redo buttons in real life.
Trusty blog! Always here when I need you! NOT! Stupid internet wasn’t working, so I had to settle for ranting in word and then posting later so I don’t forget how mad I was. So I went to add a song to this mondo list of songs I have...er, had. But apparently I accidentally DELETED IT! I might vaguely remember emptying the recycle bin and thinking nothing in there was important. GRRR. Over half of it was on my home computer before I got a laptop, so I can get that once our computer gets back from being fixed, but there was also a growing list of songs that were not in the original document, and now I have to remember them all from the top of my head before I grow old and don’t remember anything. Ok, maybe that’s a bit overdramatic, but it’s only in my head. It’s not like I am violent or anything, I am just ranting in a blog. Blogblogblog.
Anyways, I finally got together with the clan today, minus one. I have all this free time, yet we can't seem to find a time when all of us are free. It WILL happen though, eventually.
I really want to go to the wizard rock show (Moaning Myrtles, Whomping Willows, maybe others?) in Ohio on Wednesday, but I will probably not end up going because it's a long drive and I don't know if anyone could/would want to go with me. :( Why is it so hard to be a Harry Potter fan?!? I have still never been to any wrock shows or HP gatherings of any sort, except for midnight release of DH which was not as great as it could have been because EVERYONE wants to read the last book, not just hard core fans, and because my friend's now-ex (thank God) boyfriend was with us.
I realize I never really use names in this blog, and I don't really know why. It's not like anyone is going to stalk me, seeing as I am not interesting at all, and I still don't know if anyone reads this. Soooo...yeah. That's that.
Song of the day: The Proclaimers--I'm Gonna Be (500 miles)
Posted by tranquilily at 12:01 AM 0 comments
