CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Sunday, July 26, 2009

John Williams is my favorite composer

Well, after seeing HBP for the second time, I think I liked it more. There were a lot of good parts, it's just that last time, the thing that stuck in my mind was Harry and Ginny's kiss in the Room of Requirement. I think this is because I loved it in the book when Ginny wins the quidditch match and then it's just so simple, "And Harry kissed her," but it was just so bad in the movie. I still think the Burrow attack scene was weird, but I take back what I said about lack of uniforms. They did have them on in the Great Hall and during some scenes, but I just don't picture wearing Converse and flannel shirts when he's not wearing his robes. I don't really remember everything I said in my last post, but it's possible I've changed my mind about a couple other things too.

So on Friday I had a clan sleepover at my house, because we haven't really celebrated anyone's birthday, so we combined them. It's great to be with my very best friends, even when we don't do anything. Indigo's sister bought us cheap wine and we split it, but none of us are very into alcohol, so it was hard to finish. I really don't understand how people can drink so much at parties and stuff. It kind of hurt my throat every time I swallowed, and I wondered why people can drink things that are bad for them to get drunk, even if it tastes bad, but people don't really eat things that taste bad if they are good for them, such as brussels sprouts. Why are humans self-destructive? We also took lots of pictures and ate junk food and stayed up late (for some) and talked about boys and college and life.

And just a while ago, I decided to play my flute. It's been over a year, and I wanted to see how much I remembered or forgot, and replay all the fun songs. I of course played Simple Gifts, our freshman/junior year solo & ensemble song, and Children's March and a bit of Canon and Baroque Hoedown and lots more. Of course I skipped the hard parts which I could never play and went at my own speed on the fast parts, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well I did. But my favorite by far was the John Williams marching band show from my freshman year. They make me soooooo so HAPPY. That was the year I found my best friends, and our friendship blossomed and grew and shaped who I am today. I wish I had access to a baritone, that would just make me overflow right now. I wish I had a pensieve so I could go back and look at band camp memories and tag days and the first clan ceremony bringing us together as sisters and just everything ever. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooohaskjghoa;uhgk!!!

Haha that was so off the cob...

Song of the day: Metric--Help I'm Alive

Monday, July 20, 2009

Badly written thoughts upon first viewing of HBP

Yesterday I saw the new Half-Blood Prince movie finally! After waiting 8 extra months, I figured I could wait a couple days after it came out instead of seeing it at the midnight release for a few reasons: First, I was finishing re-reading all the books up to that point (because everyone knows the books are so much better), and second, some of my friends would not be able to come then, and third, because 2 years ago for Order of the Phoenix, we were the only ones at our theater who were dressed up and I was really disappointed, so it's not that I was not enough of a hard core fan to see it at midnight, it's that I was too true of a fan to care about parading it around to people who aren't. woot. This paragraph sucks.

Overall, it was good. In my opinion, worse than the 5th only because it was too cheesy, and of course none will beat the first 2, but much better than the 3rd and 4th because they did a horrible job with those. (so my tentative order of liking is 1,2,5,6,3,4)
Now that I've covered that (with bad sentence structure), I will move on to review some more detailed points I remember from my first viewing of the movie. I wrote down a lot of things, so this is going to be really long. I don't notice the acting quite as much as whether things were in the movie or not, unless it is really good or really bad. And a general disclaimer is probably in order: I understand that things need to be cut out for time and money's sake, and adapted for better viewing on the screen, and emphasized to be made more obvious so non-book-readers can follow. However, I am still resentful, but the movies are what I have to look forward to now that all the books are finished.

Complaints (in no particular order):

  • The cave is made of ice blocks! Or are they glass blocks? Caves are made of ROCK!!! How did Dumbledore not melt the island with all that fire? And the potion could easily have been made green like it is in the book--that is just and unnecessary change, though it probably wouldn't matter to most people.
  • Death eaters do not become smoke and fly away, they apparate like everyone else!
  • Lack of Hogwarts school uniforms!
  • Ginny and Harry's kiss in the room of requirement! So AWKWARDly done and cheesy!
  • Lack of Parvati Patil.
  • Not enough Tonks
  • No apparation lessons! (okay, apparition. I prefer apparation)
  • Where is the minister of magic?
  • Dmbledore's death scene did not make me cry, it looked fake. (also should be noted that Sirius's death scene was not done justice either!) Harry should have been invisible/paralyzed, but it is understandable that he does not wear the cloak in the movie so the audience can see him.
  • Although Michael Gambon acted like Dumbledore this time, I realized I still don't like his gravelly voice, because sometimes you just can't understand some words that come out of his mouth. And he still doesn't wear glasses!
  • Dumbledore's wand was just sitting on his desk at the end! Wtf, where is it going to end up?!?!
  • Stuff I already knew was cut, like the battle with the death eaters at the end; why did they need to show up if there was no fight? No Bill and Fleur, no Dumbledore's funeral, but it was still disappointing that it had to be left out.
  • The added Burrow scene! Where are they going to live now? Did they just let it burn to the ground? WTF! And Harry and Ginny running through the corn stalks into a puddle!
  • The soundtrack was disappointing because it used the same songs as OotP, plus more cryptic "ooooh"s from the choir, and probably some more tracks that I didn't notice. I really REALLY hope John Williams comes back for the last movies!!!

Delights:

  • Luna, of course.
  • The Malfoy-stomping-Harry's-nose-on-the-train scene.
  • Malfoy in general.
  • Quidditch was good.
  • Slughorn was EXCELLENT!
  • I loved Harry and Ron's fight for the newer-looking potions book, it was cute!
  • Bellatrix was good, except a little overdone with the speaking to people's shoulders thing.
  • So many lines directly from the book!

The bad things seem to outweigh the good things here, but really it was very enjoyable. I want to see it again soon so I can take in more of the little things that I might have missed the first time.

Song of the day: The Moaning Myrtles: Bathroom Acoustics

Thursday, July 2, 2009

thisisnottom

Here I am eating yogurt again. I'm getting used to it, but the fact that I'm eating it just to eat is not good. I hoped that getting my wisdom teeth out would help tame my eating habits, but now I'm just looking around for only soft foods instead of any foods. But like I always say, oh well. Do I care enough to do anything? I don't know yet.

I haven't showered or brushed my teeth or gone anywhere in the past 2 days. And yet, I don't feel that disgusting, except for my cheeks being puffy from the swelling. I mean, I haven't done anything active, so there is no reason for me to be smelly. Some people are really uptight about hygiene, but most of the time it's not as bad as it seems if you don't make a big deal out of it. Maybe I'm just lucky or something, that my hair is not too greasy for anyone to notice. And I think I have a bad sense of smell, but no one else seems to notice anything either. I'm not saying that I have bad hygiene, I just don't like wasting time and clean water and stuff when I don't really need to at the moment. This is getting a little difficult to write about...

I've mostly been reading and watching TV for the past couple days. I just started Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which I will probably finish soon and start Goblet of Fire before I go up north next week. I want to finish Half-Blood Prince before the movie comes out July 15th. I'm so excited for the movie! But anyways, I'm not sure if I'll finish on time, but it won't be a big deal. I've also been reading the thisisnottom story. I don't really get the whole idea with the clues and ending with a new chapter, I'm just going to the spoilers and it's been fun to read so far. I don't know, some people think it's real, but I'm skeptical of that. Well, back to more reading! This was a really bad post haha.

Song of the day: Bell X1--The Great Defector