CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Monday, May 18, 2009

Embarrassing parents and a feast.

I really honestly thought I would blog more this week, but there are too many people around. I wish I could just remember all the things I thought to blog about because there are so many things I've been thinking about since I am so bored, but all of them can't stay in my head at once.

This past Saturday was the rowing picnic, like how we would have banquets for other sports in high school. I didn't think coach was going to talk that much, but I have realized rambling is pretty much a requirement of being a coach. It was nice to eat lots of food since I have been limiting myself due to not wanting to go out/spend money. Then I went home for the day with my parents. I got to see my kitty and my mom did my laundry and my brother drove us to church and we went to Sonic and my mom made me pick up job applications from a couple places. I know I need a job, but I HATE applications/forms/paperwork. Uggh. My parents asked if I was craving any certain foods since they know I have not been eating real food in a while. I said pizza (not from Little Caesar's) and a smoothie. It's surprising, living in a college house, that I have not actually had real pizza yet. Today I had a brunch with some of the guys though and it was nice to eat real food. I was lame and contributed English muffins, but it was enough that I got to have scrambled eggs and steak & potatoes and a lemon poppyseed muffin with icing.

Speaking of "some of the guys", when my parent came to pick up my stuff on Saturday, it was funny to see their reaction to the house. I am sleeping in a basement bedroom with 3 other guys, and it's ironic, because I am actually the girl that is least sleeping with guys. there are 2 couples sharing mattresses on the third floor, and another girl who mooches off other guys to share their bed because she didn't want to sleep on the floor. They really are good guys though.

My dad thought the house was so "classic", he wanted to take a picture of me in front of it because he couldn't believe I was staying at a place so grungy. I refused, but he took a picture of the house by itself anyways. And when they dropped me back off, they also picked up my bike from my old dorm where I left it because I didn't need it and they realized they never got a picture of me in front of my dorm and when are we going to come back here, so they made me stand in front of it and take a picture, even though there is construction in the background and you probably can't even read the name of the building in the photo. Then when they took me back to the house, they made me learn how to open the basement window, just in case there was a fire, and then my mom wanted to be introduced to everyone who was outside (participating in "wine and hammock day"), and one of the guys in my room said he had a fifth of vodka laying in there so he went in and put it in the freezer when he saw my parents drive up. I love my parents a lot; they are great people and I admire them, but they are pretty embarrassing sometimes. But I figure everyone's parents are embarrassing at times and other people aren't going to judge me for that, yet I just pretend it's not happening and then I go back to being awkward and lurky. Oh my life...

0 comments: