Ok, a little overdue, but I am finally getting around to finishing my blog about the weekend. After the first day, a bunch of people went swimming in the lake in the backyard of the house we were at. No one brought bathing suits, so a lot of people wore spandex or unis. I wore my uni, because I didn’t have anything else and I didn’t want to miss out. So it was definitely wet in the morning and I had to put it on for my race. It was a lot wetter than Sarah’s which made her feel a little better because she likes to complain and it was good for her to know that mine was worse. I didn’t really care though, I had a wet uni in Philly too when I lent it to Mary for her to weigh in and then it rained, soaking everyone and everything, so I knew it would dry faster if I put it on. Also, I have an awesome uni-tan now. More of a burn actually, but it’s peeling and slowly turning into a tan. I have to even it out now though, which is going to be pretty tough. I need to learn to use sunscreen more…oops.
My mom also took a lot of pictures at the regatta. I appreciate all the pictures, sure, and we finally took a boat picture, but she also uses the video camera a lot. This I would appreciate if she took it of the right things, but she follows my boat around when we are carrying it and when I look bad in general. Ugg. Maybe someday I will be grateful for these videos of me, but I haven’t actually seen them yet.
The ride back was long, as usual, but there were only 3 of us in the back seat. So I actually had a lot of room, but it’s too far to lean on someone then, or maybe it’s just me, and I could not sleep well at all. Then when we got back around 2:00 am, there was of course a party celebrating the last regatta and the end of the season. I don’t drink, but basically everyone else was. I was just staying up because I don’t like to miss out on stuff and I was waiting for my coxswain to get there in case she had paper plate awards for our boat. And I wasn’t really tired anymore by then. So when the rest of my boat got there, except one wasn’t coming, they were like “come on, we’re doing a shot together!” but they said it didn’t have to be alcohol since I don’t drink, so I did half-and-half, which was kind of a big event, but not really. Then I went back to lurking around the edges and watching drunk people dancing silly. Then just before 5:00, Piano Man finally came on, and when that song comes on it’s tradition for all the guys drop down to their underwear and stand in a circle and sing it, and sometimes the girls gather in the middle, so I got pulled into that. Then I went to bed for about 2 hours before I was asked if I wanted to go to breakfast, so I went with 2 other sober people and 5 still-drunk people who made it through the night and we all got pancakes, while the hostess sat the police about 2 tables away, and it was really funny.
Then I slept more, and finally went home for the summer, which was happy and sad at the same time. Now I have been sleeping in my own BED and there is food in the fridge/cupboards most of the time, and I get to see my kitty :) I will miss people over the summer, but I’m definitely glad for the comforts of home and the friends who live here. So far I haven’t done much, I looked at a lot of facebook pictures, I went to Meijer with my mom and it was all rearranged and weird, I made oatmeal chocolate-chip cookies with Annie, and I went to the high school band concert which made me reminisce about the good old days in band before everything was remodeled. And apparently 19 teachers are retiring next year! Everything is changing so much, which I suppose is inevitable, but it’s sad, it doesn’t feel the same anymore. I feel like I’m getting old so fast!
[Edit:] I forgot the song of the day AGAIN! Anyways, it is: Transparent by the Moaning Myrtles
Saturday, May 30, 2009
End of season, part II.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

0 comments:
Post a Comment