CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Day Thirty! (The End)

Wow, last day! I can't believe it has already been a whole month, and pretty successful. It's kind of ironic, how my last paper of the semester was due today, as if it were a test to see if I had gotten better at writing. Since it is the last day of BEDA, I figured I would compile a list of conclusions I have drawn about my particular blogging style, and perhaps some things I have learned about myself in the process. I mean, what is the point of doing something for 30 days if you don't learn from it, right? But before I begin, you have to see this awesome video!

Let's start with some basic statistics:
# of days missed: 2 (only for lack of internet access, I promise!)
# of days late: 2 (no excuse really, sorry!)
I must say, that's a pretty decent job. We must always remember that no one is perfect.

And now, specially presenting:

  • CONCLUSIONS I HAVE DRAWN FROM BEDA:
    When in doubt, I most often write about rowing, food, and about how I am bad at writing/can’t think of anything to say.
  • It seems I am very self-centered, I always write about my life and what happened today rather than addressing issues in the world or writing poetry or fiction/fanfiction. (For the record I have never ever written fanfiction). I believe the reason I write about myself is because I know quite a lot about myself, and everything else takes research/time/effort.
  • I probably come across dumber than I am. I know a lot more grammar than many people (for instance, the difference between your and you’re), but sometimes I write run-on sentences and such. Or maybe it’s the other way around, and I am just dumber than I like to think.
  • I have realized blogging for me is mostly for when I have something to complain about, so I can quickly write it down and vent without having to annoy other people in my life with it, and you can choose to read it or not. I don’t know for the life of me how columnists can come up with something new and substantial to write about every day!
  • I am not funny. Don’t get me wrong, I have a sense of humor, I just feel that if I try to be witty, it doesn’t come across right. And it’s not like many people (if any) read this, so who am I trying to entertain?
  • I am not very creative with titles. Sometimes I would think of a good one, but I like consistency so on the off-days when I wouldn’t have had a good title, there was always a generic title. I might start titling my blog posts with random unrelated things if I don’t come up with anything now that BEDA is over and I don’t have a fallback plan, because there must ALWAYS be a title! My 11th grade English teacher suggested “My Little Pony” or “The Eagles’ Greatest Hits: Vol. II” if we couldn’t think of anything. I would like to come up with a few of my own.
  • I go off topic a lot, and my thoughts do not flow well. I am hoping this gets better the more I write.
  • I tend to write at the end of my day, for fear that I will have nothing to write about so I can always have a fallback plan and write about my day. That’s not the best plan in the world, seeing as most of my days are very similar: rowing, eat, shower, class, eat more, sometimes swing dancing or a cute anecdote, and wishing I could get more sleep.
  • I don’t know if BEDA made me a better blogger, worse blogger, or just the same. Overall, I would say it was a worthwhile experience. I don’t know if I’ll continue the tradition next year, but it was fun while it lasted. Very distracting though, with the unlimited supply of new blogs to read when I was bored (a.k.a. avoiding homework).

So there you have it! Now I can get on with my life and blog about more interesting things when I happen to think of them. Actually they will probably be just as uninteresting, but whatever, you know what I mean.

In other news, my rowing clothing order came today, and the sweatpants are SO COMFY! :)

Song of the day: Into the Sunshine--Julia Nunes

HAHAAAHAHHHAHAHAAHHAAHAHAHAHA did anyone get Hankroll'd at the beginning? Probably I will just come across this post in the future and fall for it myself seeing as I have no regular readers that I know of, or maybe the link won't even work. Okay, I am really thirsty, so TTFN!

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Day Twenty-Nine.

Second-to-last day of BEDA! I feel that this post should say something worthwhile rather than the general ramble/rant/complain/bore-you-to-death. It's crunch time! I have a paper due tomorrow at 12:40 so I have just over 17 hours to write it. Luckily it's really only an "extension" of the last two papers, with 6 paragraphs added on. As an engineering major, this is actually quite a relief. I never thought I would be able to write a 10-page paper, ever. Who knows if it will even be 10 pages, probably not, but it's only supposed to be 9-18, and if I use courier new font like usual, it makes things a lot easier. Too bad the first 2/3 of my paper are really bad, but I am not going to rewrite them because 1) that would take too long, and 2) they would turn out just as bad the second time, so I'm not going to waste the time. I kind of wish I had more sleep in me, having gotten less than 4 hours last night and knowing I will have to stay up the whole night to finish. But I was at swing dancing and rowing, and that is more important that paper-writing, of course. And I don't drink energy drinks or coffee, so I will probably be munching on food all night and listening to songs on my iTunes and/or Pandora. It makes me feel better though that so many people go through this paper-writing ritual, as featured in MJ's blog: How to Write a Final Paper. Currently I am procrastinating by watching YouTube videos and writing this entry. I am pretty much a professional procrastinator (try saying THAT 5 times fast!), having a lot of experience from high school. It's like a competition; usually I start out okay, but then the next time I have to do a paper/project I think "well, I did this last time and finished it..." so then I end up in that mindset, and I end up starting even LATER, which is VERY BAD.

While on YouTube, I discovered a trailer for a new Alexis Bledel movie, "Post Grad" and it looks pretty good. The song at the end sounded good, so I looked it up, and was very excited that it was one of my iTunes free singles of the week that I hadn't listened to very much! Yay for good music that is free! I always download the free single of the week, even if it's not really my style. I mean, you never know if one day it's going to become popular and you will be glad you got it for free, and if you don't like it, you don't have to put it on your iPod. Simple as that. Speaking of iTunes, I have some gift card money for that, but I don't know what to spend it on.

In other news, I am very behind on my podcast-listening. I haven't had time since I ride my bike to class instead of walking, and I don't have time during the day because if I am doing other stuff I don't usually listen to people talking. If I am not hearing what they are saying, what is the point of listening at all?

Darn, three whole paragraphs and nothing interesting yet. But I'm determined.
Must. Keep. Blogging...

Maybe now would be a good time to search out a question/topic to write about. How come I am so eager to blog, yet I can't seem to ever get around to writing about how the U.S. moved from isolation to an international role? Oh right, because that's even more boring than my own life,. well, at least to me. And it also takes some research, which is work. Pressing on...

Well I have looked through some questions and some of them looked interesting, but I realized I don't have time to be analyzing pointless things just for the fun of it. Who are we kidding, I am not a writer, I am just keeping track of my life on the internet. So I might as well talk about rowing. What a surprise!

Today we rowed our four again, and the second half of practice our set FINALLY got better! It was so exciting. I hope we get to row the four at practice a lot, since we are rowing it at the next 3 regattas. Speaking of regattas, one of them is 2 weeks after school gets out and I still have to ask someone if I can crash in thier apartment for that time. I am not "friends" with anyone who has an apartment, so it is kind of awkward for me, but lots of people have to do it, and I'm NOT staying at the crew house...eww. And I also have to figure out when I am moving all my stuff out of my dorm. I know, I know, more procrastination. It's been about an hour and a half since I started writing this blog post, so I guess it's time to finally start my paper... :( Let's hope my internet doesn't die on me just when I need it, as it seems to be slightly malfunctioning.

Song of the day: Show Me What I'm Looking For--Carolina Liar

Day Twenty-Eight.

Okay, technically this is late, but only by 2 minutes and since I wasn't logged in I forgot for a second this window was up, and I haven't gone to bed yet, so it's still today.

So today I got to have afternoon practice instead of morning practice so we could row our four before the weekend and have more attention from coach to fix things and because we don't have enough boats to row all the fours at once. But I was supposed to be back by 7 so I could go to swing dancing at 7:30, but of course I wan't back on time. We were a little late getting there because our coxswain was taking a nap and didn't answer her phone. And then coach asked me why I needed to be back by 7 and I said "swing dancing" and it sounded like a lame excuse, but I go every week and I already told people I was going. It was disappointing though because it was the last meeting of the semester and the guy that I really like to dance with didn't even ask me to dance once. And apparently he's graduating. I'm not bitter though. A lot of people who have graduated still come I think, so maybe he'll be around next year, and it's not like I ever talked to him at all anyways. He was just really good at dancing and he seemed really nice, and he was pretty cute. I just feel stupid though because I don't know the formalities of being human. Like, how are you supposed to just approach people you don't know and talk to them and become friends with them? I am just too shy, and it's part of me that is really hard to change. And rowing is my "main activity", where swing dancing is only my "secondary activity" so I don't feel like I need to be as much of a part of it or something, even though I should probably try to talk to people more no matter where I'm at. This is the kind of thing I was talking about yesterday, why I don't want to write about stupid things I do and/or regret not doing and I know it's going to sound silly when I read it back in the future...

That was a long paragraph--I should probably break it up, but I don't feel like it.

Song of the day:
Second Chance--Shinedown

Monday, April 27, 2009

Day Twenty-Seven.

Michigan weather is so fickle! It decides to be BEAUTIFUL yesterday and this morning, and now it is gusting wind and thunderstorming. And I have to go meet my friend who lives all the way across campus to get my math notes back because I have a test tomorrow (which I am going to fail miserably). And I have to pick up a note for her on the way so she can get a final exam changed, which puts me even more out of my way. I don't want to complain though, I wanted to go anyway, I'm just mad at the weather because it's too windy to use an umbrella and it's going to be horrible to ride my bike in, but that's the fastest way, and my computer says it's 82 degrees and sunny back home. It's kind of sad that I have to blog about weather 2 days in a row because I have nothing to talk about. Weather really is a big part of Michigan though, so that will by my lame excuse.

I guess there is other stuff that I want to talk about, but I haven't for fear of sounding like a stereotypical adolescent girl with hormones raging, and reading it back sometime in the future and knowing how stupid I sounded. Also, admitting something makes it more real and I like keeping it in my head for now. This paragraph really isn't helping anything, so I think I'm going to move on now.

I could always talk about rowing if all else fails. I realize I get to watch the sunrise every single morning on a beautiful (but not as beautiful as Tennessee) river, which is something most people don't get to experience. It would be kind of romantic, too bad I don't have a special someone to share it with. Well, there are 4 or 8 other girls in my boat, but that's not what I mean of course. Today I got to row in the varsity 4, which is an honor to me, but I don't feel like I am contributing anything to it. It would be better if we got to practice in it more, but unfortunately we don't.

Well I guess I'm going to get ready to venture into the miserable wind and rain now.

Song of the day: Don't Look Back in Anger--Oasis

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Day Twenty-Six.

I love nice weather! I love being barefoot outside and not having to grab a jacket when I leave the room. I mean, it's not perfect today, but it's warm enough, and hopefully it won't rain again. But I think we all live for those perfect gorgeous days. And when it's horrible outside, it's only so that we can appreciate the good days that much more. I think this also applies to life. We go through all these bad things so that we can appreciate the good things in our lives.

Today I slept in a lot, which was really really nice for a change. I got up around 11 and got ready and ate some brunch and then I planned on working on my paper or at least doing some homework, but of course I got distracted by facebook and I was talking to my friend on AIM about rowing and other stuff. Then we went to church and I borrowed her skirt to wear to swing dancing on Tuesday, which is the last one of the semester so I thought I should dress up.

Now I am going to plan my schedule for next year, which is going to suck, but at least I will have some idea of what I'm taking...

I can't believe how fast April is going--only 4 more days of BEDA after today!

I think have made up my mind to do a song of the day (or of the post when I am not blogging every day) instead of a random whatever of the day from now on, because that is less consistent and takes more effort to come up with something new, and I think it will be fun to look at what songs were in my head when I post. So yeah, I'm settling on that.

Song of the day: Message in a Bottle--The Police

Saturday, April 25, 2009

Day Twenty-Five.

Windy-Indy sure was fun! The water sucked and was so choppy, a boat even sank! I felt really bad for those girls because that was some cold water, but at least it was warm outside compared to Frostbite when we had a four that flipped which I thankfully was not in. I think most of our boats came in last, but it was still a good time.

I am beginning to like long van rides and the team bonding that takes place. There are groups of people who generally end up in the same vans and I am getting to know them better. I think that's how all the varsity rowers became so close when they talk of the fun of spring racing. I mean, you wouldn't think sitting in a van all cramped up for hours on end would be fun, but you do get really close because what other choice do you have?

I can't wait until next year when I am varsity and I get to have an awesome jacket and we get to recruit new rowers and see who stays and who doesn't. I'm not too anxious, though--I still want to have a summer break and I'm definitely not looking forward to 17 credits and a Friday afternoon class, and hopefully a job. I still don't know if I want a car either, because I would be obligated to drive to practice, but then it would also be easier to go home quuicker if I needed to. I am kind of spoiled though, because I know my parents would pay for it even if we really can't afford it. It's kind of sad how I am planning my life around rowing...

Friday, April 24, 2009

Day Twenty-four.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Ok I feel a little better now. I hate not being able to organize my thoughts in an orderly fashion, first of all because I don't know what I'm thinking half the time, and because I don't have time to think about what I'm thinking. Sometimes I think that I think in feelings and vibes rather than in words. And sometimes I'll have a song in my head and realize that I'm just humming ignorantly rather than being aware of what I am thinking.

I have a test in about an hour that I haven't finished studying for and I'll probably fail because I did really bad on the last one. It's definitely my teacher's fault though...he writes really bad questions. But last time I studied a lot, and the time before that I did better and I barely studied at all. So maybe somewhere in the middle is best. We'll see how it works out.

I am going to Indianapolis today for rowing, so I may not be able to post tomorrow, but I probably will if everything goes according to the schedule.

Thing of the day:
Sorry I can't come up with anything. hehe

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Day Twenty-Three.

I would consider today fairly productive (at least compared to most days). I finally washed my tennis shoes that I wear to rowing, and now they are not muddy anymore, and a little whiter than before, but they smell a bit like bleach and will probably never completely dry. I don't know if you can put shoes in the dryer, but I didn't want to try. So it looks like I will have to wear a different pair of shoes to the boathouse tomorrow and probably get them muddy. I think it might be a good idea to wear flip-flops.

I also did some other laundry, read some chapters for my exam tomorrow, took a nap, and went to a rowing fundraiser at Mongolian BBQ. I felt kind of in the way, and I spent a fortune on dinner when I already have an unlimited meal plan, but it was fun. I would have stayed the whole time, but I am drowning in things to do which I keep putting off, so at least I showed up at all.

Now I am just sitting here wondering what else to write and wasting time, so I need to get back to reading (I hate the word studying) before I am too tired to do so. I feel like all of my blog posts end like this. I am kind of glad there is only a week left of BEDA; I feel like my entries will become considerably more meaningful.

Hot guy of the day (focus on the right half of the picture...umm, duh):

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Day Twenty-Two.

I am running out of time! Only two weeks left until school is out and I have so much to do. I have an exam on Friday, I have a huge paper due next week, I have a math exam, an engineering project due soon, and then it's final exams! Not to mention, I have to plan my whole schedule for next year. I don't know how I manage to waste so much time being lazy when I should be studying. That's what college is about after all... I don't really know though, I feel like I am here for the experience more than the actual learning. I have no idea what I want to do with my life. I am just going with the flow and hoping everything works itself out. I think life is more about living than being flustered all the time, so I should enjoy it. Even if it gets me nowhere, at least I'll be happier than if I had wasted my prime years being uptight and preparing for later when I'm going to have a "real" job and it's just going to be boring anyways. Maybe it won't be boring, but let's face it--I am a really boring person, and college surrounds me with plenty of interesting people. Maybe I should just go join the circus or something...I mean I can do cartwheels and kind of juggle and I've always wanted to learn to ride a unicycle. Wow this entry is weird. Haha


Random thing of the day:

P.S.: Happy EARTH DAY!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Day Twenty-One.

I need to wash my shoes. They are still wet from the regatta this weekend and they have smelled up my whole room. And it is still raining on and off, so it is going to be wet outside all week. I think the weekend is supposed to be lovely though, which is lucky because it's not fun to have a regatta in the rain. Ewww...

Today was my last chem lab of the semester, so next Tuesday I will have a huge block of free time! That would be exciting, except I am dreading the paper that is due next Thursday (coincidentally on the last day of BEDA). So far I have done my papers the night before, and as much as I want to change my ways, I don't know if it's actually going to happen.

I should be using this time wisely, seeing as I left swing dancing early because I was tired and I have a take-home quiz due tomorrow...school is so stressful!

I'm hungry. So that's it for today.

Awesome thing of the day:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BDVbxop-eo&feature=related
I can't wait for Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince movie!!!!!

Monday, April 20, 2009

Day Twenty.

I feel like I am so busy right now that I am just doing nothing. I planned on being productive today and reading/studying while I wasn't tired, but instead, I wasted it all. That's the thing that sucks about having an amazing weekend: you don't want to come back to reality. I can't wait until school is done, then I can just be free and not have deadlines. Although I really really really need to find a job and I don't know how that's going to happen.

Here's a funny exchange between me and a friend from last week:
[In the cafeteria]
Me: “I kind of want to get another cookie, but I really shouldn’t. Today I stole two muffins from the cafe because they were apple cinnamon and I love them.”
Friend: “I love the way you tell stories…you make them sound interesting”
Me: “That wasn’t interesting. Other people have real stories, but that’s all I have so I have to make it sound better. Ok well, I’m gonna get another cookie, I haven’t had them in a long time since I gave them up for lent.”

The last line is not verbatim, I just forgot how I said it, but you get the idea. I am really boring.

Apparently my mom got a letter from the bank today saying there was an overdraft charge on my checking account, which is ridiculous, because I have been keeping track of my money well enough that this should not be a problem. I hate paperwork... :(

Tomorrow is really busy, so I am going to go to bed, which I should have done a long time ago. And I missed 11:11 when I could have made a wish. I don't know if I believe in that stuff, but it's fun to do anyway and hope something fun happens.

Cool thing of the day:
Using aluminum containers/mint-boxes to keep stuff in, like a wallet.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Day Nineteen.

So I definitely thought I would be back earlier than this, but it's about midnight. I don't have morning practice tomorrow though!

I just checked and found out I have some BEDA buddies, so hello there! Sorry I am so late...

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Day Sixteen.

I just found a Taco Bell kid's meal bag from spring break and decided to throw it away. I'm not sure why I was saving it, or if I just forgot about it, but it was kind of sitting in plain sight. I guess I'm just that used to garbage. The kid's meal bags are still the same ones that they have had for years, since I was still a KID getting kid's meals. They have an on-the-road scavenger hunt type thing, where you have to check off certain things you see on the drive home like a mailbox, a cow, at fire hydrant, etc. I was going to do that on the 24-hour van ride on spring break, but I never got around to it. It would have been boring anyway and we were on the expressway for most of it.

Speaking of long van rides, I am leaving today at midnight to go to Tennessee for rowing! This regatta is supposed to be really big so I am excited to experience that. I will probably be back at some ridiculous time Saturday night/early Sunday morning, so I will have to miss days 17 and 18 of BEDA. If you get assigned to be my BEDA buddy and you are reading this, I promise you I will be back as soon as possible on Sunday, but I will probably be very tired and write about how tired I am and about rowing and it probably won't be very entertaining...so I would like to apologize for that in advance.

Urghahla;lahghawieoh...I keep typing adn instead of and, which is becoming REALLY FRUSTRATING!

Random meme just for fun (well, actually to take up space):

Using only song titles from ONE ARTIST, cleverly answer these questions. Try not to repeat a song title. It's harder than you think.

Pick Your Artist: KT Tunstall (even though I have only ever heard 4 of her songs, but they are good!)

Are you male or female: Girl And The Ghost
Describe yourself: Beauty Of Uncertainty
How do you feel about yourself: If Only
Describe where you currently live: Golden Age
If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Hollywood Hill
Your favorite form of transportation: Paper Aeroplane
Your best friend is: Another Place To Fall
Your favorite color is: Black And White
What's the weather like: Silent Sea
Favorite time of day: Through The Dark
If your life was a tv show, what would it be called: Black Horse And The Cherry Tree
What is life to you: Moment Of Madness
What is the best advice you have to give: Hold On
If you could change your name, what would it be: Barbie
Your favorite food is: Other Side Of The World
Thought for the Day: Suddenly I See
How I would like to die: Saving My Face
My soul's present condition: Stoppin' The Love
The faults I can bear: Universe & U
My motto: Throw Me A Rope

I'm going to take a leaf out of hayleyghoover's book today:
Sexy: Unicyclists.
Unsexy: guys who ride their bikes with no hands through crowds of walking people just to show off.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Day Fifteen.

Halfway through BEDA already! I am really excited to get a BEDA-buddy! And happy tax day in America, but that doesn't really apply to me since I don't have a job or anything, and my parents got theirs out of the way in February or something.

I don't have much to say today. I have been putting this off all day waiting for something interesting to happen, or maybe stuff did happen and I just downplayed it so much that it all became boring. My mom and my friend's mom came up to visit today and we went out to lunch at Cosi. She came I think mostly to take some of my stuff home so it wouldn't be such a hassle when I have to move out of the dorm, but she only told me yesterday and I didn't have much she could bring home at the moment. She just ended up taking home some old books and papers, my TV since I don't have cable so I don't watch it, and some fold-up chairs that were taking up space under my bed which have only been used like twice.

I finally did much-needed laundry today, and all of it is sitting on my bed so I will have to put all of that away before I go to sleep, and hopefully I will finish my extra credit paper too so I can take a long nap tomorrow before I have to leave at midnight to go to Tennessee for a regatta. I feel bad for the drivers; I get to sleep in the van all the way down if I want. Unfortunately, Friday and Saturday I will not be able to blog because I will not have internet access :( It's not a lack of motivation or anything, I just can't. Maybe I will try to do an extra-long post on Sunday to make up for it.

I am going to go finish stuff before bed and maybe take the Narcissistic quiz (http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/2009-03-16-pinsky-quiz_N.htm)!

Quote of the day:
Hearts, Stars, and Horseshoes, Clovers, and Blue Moons, Pots of Gold and Rainbows, and me Red Balloons!
-Lucky Charms

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Day Fourteen.

I am not very fond of April showers, even if they do bring May flowers. I guess it wouldn't be AS bad if it was warmer out, but it's such a pain. I have to row in the rain in the morning, and then I am soaked and shivering through breakfast until I get to take a nice hot shower and put on dry clothes. Then I go to class, just to get wet again. I like to shift around a lot in my seat, and it is very uncomfortable when I can't sit on my leg because the bottom of my pants are wet so they will make my butt wet. And if I ride my bike, I can't use an umbrella, so my whole head gets wet. Urggg.

More complaining: I am so jealous that my younger brother gets to see Death Cab for Cutie in concert at MY school! I can't go because I have a regatta. A friend bought some tickets and I was hoping I would be able to go, but no... And then my brother gets invited by my cousin, and it's so unfair! Urggg. Sorry for the mini-rants, but this is my blog, I can say whatever I want and you can choose whether or not to read it.

Hmmm...there must be something positive to say today. Oh yes, they had apple cinnamon muffins in the caf today (best muffins ever)! I get way too much enjoyment from food. I did eat pretty healthy at breakfast today though. I still have never tried an omelet, and I don't think I can truly be a part of the cult that is crew until I have done that. Don't worry, it's not REALLY a cult.

Thing of the day:
http://www.bubble-struggle.com/

Monday, April 13, 2009

Day Thirteen.

Turns out a few other people didn't do their 2k's on time either, and I didn't end up doing as bad as I thought I was going to. I celebrated that fact by getting ice cream (actually it was sherbet), not like I need a reason to eat ice cream. Speaking of junk food, today they had peanut butter cookies at lunch in the caf, and I can finally have cookies since lent is over! Delicious.

I can't believe I only have 3 weeks left of school. I have so much to do, but I ignore it all until the last minute so I don't really get freaked out by it until I realize I don't have any more time to get it done. Then I lose sleep, which doesn't work very well with rowing.


I was supposed to write about the meaning of life like I mentioned the other day, but I don't really feel like doing that right now. I guess that's part of life, that it's so limited. We all complain about how we don't have enough time, but if life had endless time, it wouldn't be the challenge that it is. We have to learn the most we possibly can while we are here on Earth. I alos believe that life is about connecting with other people. There are almost 7 billion people in the world for a reason. What would be the point of God creating just one person? That's why he created Adam AND Eve. Life is about the feeling you get from sharing with other people. This is not very eloquent. I said I didn't want to write this right now because I knew that would happen, I wouldn't say what I meant, but I wrote it anyway because I know I won't have time later. So much to do, so little time.


Tonight I'm going to try to be productive and get something done that is due on Wednesday (that's a WHOLE DAY early!)

Quote of the day:
"Kind words are the music of the world."
~F. W. Faber

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Day Twelve.

Happy Easter! ^-^


Today was good, but sad because I had to leave my Aunt's house early, right after dinner, so I could come back to school. :(

First, we went to a brunch with my mom's side of the family, and it was nice. I mean, family is family. My I always dread the small talk and repetitive questions: How's college life? How's rowing? What classes are you taking? How are they going? What are you majoring in? Uggg...I don't have any idea where I want to go in my life, so I try to give the most generic answer possible. Ususally they ask multiple questions in a row and I am just like "good," "good," "good."

Then for dinner, we went to dad's sister's for dinner. We are Polish, and every year they make this kielbasa soup that either you like or you don't, and my brother is obsessed with it. I tried it for the first time today, and I only had a spoonful, and it was pretty much what I would have imagined. I prefer to eat all my food witout fatty broth though, and all separately.

I am not a big fan of cooking, because what is the point of wasting time to put something all together just to eat it? I prefer to just eat it all separately. I understand meat needs to be cooked, but like, sandwiches? Just eat the meat and the bread and the cheese and whatever else. This is why candy is good; it's all prepackaged and no cooking involved! I LOVE PEEPS! My favorite Easter candy. Delicious sugary-coated marshmallows! And jelly beans are a close second. Add a bit of chocolate, and you've got all the bases covered.

I was a rebel and didn't do a 2k when I got back to school today, so I'm kinda scared to go to practice tomorrow. I don't really care if coach sticks me in the B-boat, or makes me do push-ups, I just don't want him to freak out and get mad at the whole team because of what I did (or didn't do). And I should have gone to bed and at least gotten a good amount of sleep since I didn't do a 2k, but I was catching up on some blogs that I didn't read at home over the weekend. Oh, BEDA, look what my life has become.

Sweet pic of the day:

Day Eleven.

Yeah, friends are more important than BEDA when you haven't seen them in almost 3 months. So that's why this is late, but it's not late on the west coast!

So while I was seeing my BESTEST FRIENDS today, I had the most delicious cinnamon roll/ice cream dessert at Ram's Horn. Yummmm. I wanted another one! And a chocolate milk shake and some sherbet! I love desserts way too much. When I stop rowing, I'm gonna get fat, because I'll be used to eating so much and then working it off for 2 hours every day.

Sorry Jordan, if today is the day you are commenting on every single blog and mine was late and you happen to come upon it and read it anyway and it's boring.

Today I also went to church twice. At my church, the theme this year was"garbage" and basically how God takes the trash inside all of us and transforms it into something that makes us beautiful. And the beginning was like STOMP/Blue Man Group. It was awesome. My church is not like a normal sit down, stand up, same exact thing every week kind of church, they really go all out to make "unchurch people" feel welcome and just be able to check out the whole God thing at their own pace. Then I went to Easter vigil at my friend's church and we went out to dessert after, which is when I had the AMAZING cinnamon swirl sundae thing. I can't wait for summer when I can see my best friends all the time, they are sisters to me! Reading it back, this whole paragraph kind of sounds lame, but whatevs.

I wish I liked writing and had time so this whole BEDA thing wouldn't be so boring, but I'm committed, and I'm not giving up, even if I am late.

Awesome videos of the day:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-VgW4Knb5s&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=US7c9ASVfNc

Friday, April 10, 2009

Day Ten.

Yeah for double digits! BEDA is one-third over!


Yesterday, my friend asked me to answer the question: What is the meaning of life?


I am planning on answering this question through this blog, but not tonight. I was going to do that today, but I just don't have time to answer that simple yet oh-so-complicated question in 40 minutes. True, I could stay up all night, but unfortunately that would ruin my sleeping patterns.


Speaking of sleep, I am so excited to sleep in tomorrow morning! Not as much as I would like, because I have to go to church and write a blog and other stuff, but I am really excited to get a full night of sleep!


I am home from college for Easter weekend, and I got to see my kitty today! Her name is Snickers and I forgot how much I missed her! She is sooo adorable :) And I got to take a nice shower in my home shower, which is incomparably better than my school shower. It's nice being home, but I wish it was easier for me to go back and forth sometimes, like if I had a car it would be so much easier, or the easiest would be teleporting(or apparating), but unfortunately that is not possible...yet. Teleporting would save me so much time...just think of all the things I could do, the places I could go, the people I could meet.


Well I am off to plan a virtual birthday party for a friend, so I must bid you good night.


Awesome cake of the day:

Thursday, April 9, 2009

Day Nine.

Whenever I go out of my room, I think of things to blog about, and then when I get back to my computer, my mind is consumed by other things and I just forget all the topics that I had previously thought to write about. I hate complaining about how hard it is to come up with interesting things to say, but that's why I am not becoming a writer for my profession. I realize this is boring so far, and I am going to try to stop repeating this basic idea in different words in every entry. But then I would have one less thing to write about. But still, I will try.

Right now I am listening to John Green's BlogTV show in the background while I write this, and it is about to end.

Tomorrow I get to go home for Easter weekend! I am skipping Saturday practice, on which we have a 2k test piece, but I am skipping because it's ridiculous that Coach would make us have practice on a holiday weekend which is also the only weekend we don't have a regatta. I wouldn't mind so much if I lived a half hour away or had a car, but alas I do not, so it's harder for me to get home and back. I think it's fair; I am sacrificing every other weekend for rowing, and it is my first year of college, and it's technically only a club sport.

I have been spending way too much time on the computer so far in April because I am so distracted by everyone's blogs (and I even signed up for youtube yesterday, even though I have no reason to), so I think I'm going to cut this entry short. I will try to come up with better topics beforehand and write them down if I remember and maybe this would turn out better...

Random pun of the day:
A hole has been found in the nudist camp wall. The police are looking into it. HA!

Wednesday, April 8, 2009

Day Eight.

Today I couldn't think of anything to write about, so I Googled "memes" and I ended up taking a Geek Test to see how much of a geek I am, and it turns out I am just over 18% geek. The fact that I took it though in the first place should qualify me as a full-fledged geek in my opinion. I don't know, maybe I am more of a nerd than a geek, being a nerdfighter and all.


Wow, today is really boring. I can't even write about what I did because I didn't do anything interesting. I got up, went to rowing, ate breakfast, took a shower and a nap, went to math, went on the computer for a while, tried to come up with a blog entry and failed, ate lunch, more blogging(and I still haven't come up with anything in case you haven't noticed), went to genetics then engineering, and now I am back, still trying to fill up this entry. You'd think it would be fuller than it is considering all the time I've spent trying to think of ideas, but I keep erasing everything I write. I feel like I have to be entertaining now in case anyone clicks on the link and reads this, whereas before I would just ramble on about stupid things to myself mostly.


Random picture of the day: Nerds rope heart!

Tuesday, April 7, 2009

Day Seven.

It's been one whole week of Blogging Every Day in April! I think this is why people generally don't blog every day though, because it becomes boring to read and it becomes a chore, and what do people do when they have to do something: Procrastinate, of course! I have about one hour left to do this blog (in my time zone), and I have to get up in 6 hours for practice.

Anyways, I will trudge onward and embrace the fact that there is something to say every day.

Today in class we watched this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=doc1eqstMQQ and I quite like it, even if it doesn't really relate to the paper that I am supposed to write. I really like my professor, but I wish the class wasn't about "U.S. and the World." So boring. He said he would love to teach a class just about music, and I would definitely take that class from him if it was offered, though it probably wouldn't fit in my schedule. It's fun to think about all the meanings behind music and how everything in the world is so subtly connected that you don't even realize the extent of it. I took "Exploring Religions" from him last semester and it was a lot more fun than this stupid writing class that is supposed to "teach us how to think critically and use evidence."

On a different subject, I have been trying to become a tea-drinker, because tea is way cooler than coffee. It took me a while to find out how to make it taste good, because it all smells good and you can smell the different flavors but they all taste the same. I started drinking raspberry iced tea, and I'm trying to experiment with real tea. The cafeteria is great for experimenting with tea because they have all the supplies and I don't have to buy anything to try it (except that I bought the meal plan, which was admittedly expensive). I tried putting lots of sugar in it once, but that didn't do much for the flavor, and I tried hazelnut cream once, and that gave it a horrible aftertaste. Plus I think it was some kind of "spice" flavor, like apple spice maybe, so that definitely didn't go well together. My next approach was honey because that's how my mom drinks her tea, and I think that is the my favorite option so far.

Well I certainly think that was "something" enough for today. Goodnight world!

Random fact of the day:
The surface area of an average-sized brick is 79 cm squared.

Monday, April 6, 2009

Day Six.

Today it snowed...In APRIL! Multiple inches! It was really slushy which made for good packing snow, so I wanted to build a snowman, but I didn't end up doing that, and I think it may be too late, for the snow is starting to melt. Why does spring love precipitation? I just want warm weather, is that so much to ask? Well, living in Michigan it is. Having the bad weather really makes you appreciate the good weather though. That's why I think I need to live somewhere that has all the seasons.

I want to see the Northern Lights someday. I realize that is kind of random, but I have nothing better to write about today. I am going to watch the championship game today, just so it appears I have some school spirit, not because I like basketball. I will probably mostly eat food and my attention will wander from the game. Whatever, it's all part of the college experience.

I kind of feel like playing the baritone now. It's been almost a year, and I haven't played my flute in forever either.

I wish I could be more effortlessly interesting, but I am just really boring. I feel like I repeat myself a lot, so I should probably stop talking now. I want to add something to the end of each of my posts, like a signature "me" thing, maybe a quote, or likes/dislikes, or a count(or countdown) of some sort, until I settle on something I like.

So for today, I leave you with a simple song lyric:
Why do you build me up, buttercup, baby, just to let me down...?
--Build Me Up Buttercup by the Foundations

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Day Five.

Today I am going to talk about sports culture. Yes, my school's team is in the NCAA basketball finals. I just don't get all the excitement surrounding it. Why do people get all obsessed with every single player and every single move they make and "oh, they're on TV so they must be famous". Maybe that's why I am an internet nerd...

But really, wasn't the sport invented a way long time ago because some people were bored? I mean, good for the people playing, they must be having fun, but you there in the stands, why do you care about watching? If they drop the ball, does it really affect you? Today my mom said that it also does have an effect on the economy because of all the hype surrounding it and people going out to bars and spending money and whatnot, and that's a good point I hadn't thought of before, but I still don't get it.

I prefer endurance sports like swimming, rowing, biking, running, skiing, etc. because they actually take work to become good at. Some people are naturally good at game sports, and all they are is just games. I may have seen a whole 30 seconds of the game yesterday, and I had no attention span for what ws going on at all. Maybe it's all just an excuse to get drunk and cause riots, if you like that sort of thing. I prefer my little blog-world, even if it's a bit anti-social. Maybe I should go comment on other peoples' blogs and make friends, then it wouldn't be anti-social, but right now I have to go to church.

Saturday, April 4, 2009

Day Four.

Go Green! Today my college is in the Final Four for basketball. I don't follow March madness or any sports at all, so I really don't care, but I wish them luck. I suppose the game is almost over, so maybe I should check the score. I will definitely know if they win though, as everyone will scream and riot and burn couches...I try to stay out of that kind of thing.

So last night/this morning I had to wake up at 2:30(A.M.!!!) to get ready for a regatta. The water was really choppy, but our 4 came in first and our 8 lost, so I won a shirt! One won, one lost, it all evens out. Betting shirts are really a lot more motivation than the actual thought of racing to win. I am not a competitive person, I only joined rowing for fun. Oh to think what I would have done if I knew what I was in for.

At the regatta, I definitely ate too much. Not because I felt sick or anything, just because I had 3 doughnuts(and stole one for later, which I also ate), 2 bowls of soup, 2 packs of fruit snacks, a muffin, some cheese, and a rice krispie treat. I need to stop being such a hog when there are starving children in the world, but these doughnuts are sooooooooo yummmmy and I can only have them at regattas, so I feel I should take advantage of it. Plus I live in the dorm with the good ice cream, which means I can get it for free with my meal plan, so I take advantage of that way too often. I guess it's good they're closed on weekends.

Speaking of the cafeteria, there is some virus or something going around that started in one caf and is supposedly spreading person to person now. People have gone to the hospital, and lots are just sick, but luckily I haven't gotten anything.

I think I am kind of getting the hang of this whole blogging thing. I started this blog just to have one pretty much since I am an internet-lurker...I watch all these youtube videos and follow people on twitter and listen to their podcats and read their blogs, and yet I don't have a youtube account, nor a video camera, nor the technological skillz to edit/upload videos. I think vlogging would be good for me to learn how to talk in front of a camera, and maybe be less shy, but it seems like it would be so awkward, and I would never go all out like some people, so I would never get anywhere. Anyways, as I was going to say, I think I have read so many blogs that I can kind of imitate their style, so hopefully my writing is getting better. I am horrible at organizing my thoughts and wording what I want to say, but I feel like my sentences are becoming more effortlessly coherent. Not as natural as some people, but better than before. I used to hate writing, but I have always wanted to be good at it.

My suitemates are yelling at the TV, so I think something is going on in the game. I better go figure out what is going on so it looks like I have some school pride. I mean, it's not like I wish them to lose, I just don't get the whole sports culture. Good for them. But that is subject for another entry.

Friday, April 3, 2009

Day Three.

So yesterday after I bought Peeps, I realized Easter is next week! I didn't realize it was coming so soon! I will be able to have cookies again!!! :) OOh, question of the day: how do you eat muffins? Do you eat muffins? Do you bite straight in, top to bottom, do you eat the top first, do you eat the bottom first, what is your favorite kind?

I like to eat muffins from the bottom up because the top is always the best part. And then I eat around the edges of the top, then the middle of the top. I guess I eat things very precisely, like grapefruits. Maybe I have OCD. Probably. And my favorite kind would probably be these appl-cinnamon ones they have at the cafeteria sometimes, but I also enjoy chocolate chip, chocolate chocolate, and bran/raisin bran. There are more too, I'm sure, but those are the best. I realize it's very likely that no one is going to answer this question, but I already had an answer to it so I decided to stick it in here anyway.

I am very tired so this is going to be a short post, but the cool thing about blogging is that it doesn't matter! I can make it as short or as long or as many pointless questions or as few pointless questions, or just a picture if I feel like it. The only rule is to Blog Every Day in April! Woot.

Thursday, April 2, 2009

Day Two.

Yay for surveys! This one is from Jordan Cwierz's blog from today and I'm doing it because it's not writing about my boring life. Well it kind of is, but in a different way. I'll probably do that after anyway though just to keep a record of what I did, be it boring. Onward:

"18 Things to do Before Turning 18" survey, by Reese's Puffs:

1. Ride the world's biggest roller coaster.
Well I haven’t been on the world’s biggest roller coaster, but I’ve at least ridden a few. Not much of a daredevil here…

2. Bungee jump!
Maybe someday…but how can they expect someone to do this before turning 18?

3. Score the winning goal/basket.
There’s definitely a reason I’m a rower/swimmer rather than a basketball(or almost any other sport which involves throwing/hitting a ball) player…. NEXT!

4. Win an award, trophy, or prize.
Doesn’t everyone at least have a “Student of the Month” type award from elementary school…it’s kind of impossible not to get some kind of award/trophy/prize, so CHECK (count=1)

5. Learn an instrument.
w00t, flute and baritone! And I can also play Mary Had a Little Lamb on the piano! CHECK (count=2)

6. Go back stage at a gig.
What kind of gig is this? Because I’m sure I’ve been backstage at a band concert if that counts…half-check! (count=2.5)

7. Meet your idol.
Well I kind of have to figure out who my idol is first…but the answer is probably no unless I decide it’s my mom.

8. Play a part in your favorite TV show.
Seeing as my favorite TV show has been canceled (oh the sadness, why Veronica Mars was the BESTSHOWEVERRRR!), this is very unfeasible for me. And I don’t watch TV at college so I haven’t found a new favorite TV show. Fail.

9. Meet someone with your own name.
Does it count if it’s spelled differently? I’mma go with yes…CHECK (count=3.5)

10. Make a discovery.
Seriously? Ummm…nope. And I probably never will.

11. Get away with the perfect practical joke.
Hmmm…another tough one. I haven’t pulled any real practical jokes in my life, and if I had, I’m sure they would not be CLOSE to perfect.

12. Own a pointless collection.
OOH Pokemon cards…me too! And I have some stamps and key-chains and bookmarks and lots more pointless junk collections! CHECK (count=4.5)

13. Invent a word that makes it into the dictionary.
Does this mean invent the word before you’re 18 and hope it makes it into the dictionary in your lifetime, or get the word into the dictionary before you turn 18? Quite confusing…I guess it doesn’t matter since I have been 18 for a while now, and I haven’t made up any dictionary-worthy words.

14. Conquer your biggest fear.
The answer to this question is similar to #7 so just refer back there…

15. Raise money for charity.
Er--I do believe I have. CHECK (count=5.5)

16. Pass your driving the first time.
Yay driving! CHECK (count 6.5)

17. Complete a road trip coast to coast.
Ha! It doesn’t specify which coast! I love loopholes…and the Great Lakes State! CHECK (count=7.5)

18. Reach 18 years of age.
Annnnnndddd…drumroll please…CHECK! How climactic, lol.

For a Grand Total of: 8.5/18
Wow, that's almost half!

Well, today was fairly productive if I do say so. I had a nice row this morning--the water was actually smooth as glass today, yay for no wind!, I had lunch with my RA, I took a nap (YES, naps ARE productive...they help you stay AWAKE during class!), I got a new ID card so it won'tbe stupid and work in some places but not others, and I bought Zyrtec for my allergies, and some Peeps just for fun. I avoided the jelly beans this time, too, since it was a little too much last time.

I didn't, however, get any homework done, which is not good. Oh BEDA, why must you be so entertaining!? At least I'll find lots of new blogs to read and I'll NEVER BE BORED AGAIN! What a concept, haha. Well, I'm off to do some more time-wasting, even though I should be sleeping! I'll be here again tomorrow...

Wednesday, April 1, 2009

BEDA Day One!

Woot, it's Day 1 of Blog Every Day April! And April Fool's Day! Though I couldn't think of any good pranks/jokes, and I am not really that kind of person. I guess I will post this both here and on the mj ning just for fun. I don't really know how to start a month-long thing so I think I will just continue rambling about my boring life where I left off, but maybe by blogging every day I will learn to be able to write about more abstract things.

So I'm still tired from getting up at 5:00 almost every morning for rowing. And now I am sore too, but it's kinda fun being sore because it means I worked hard. Only my right calf hurts a lot more than my left so something might be wrong there. We had our first regatta last weekend and another this weekend, and pretty much every weekend except Easter. I guess it's only for about a month so it's not as many races as it seems. I don't want to talk about rowing every day for a month though, just in case anyone decides to read this. I could pretty much talk about rowing forever, but I will have to limit myself.

Last week I started going to the swing dancing club, and I went yesterday too, so now I know a bit of the lindy hop and the charleston. I am not very good at dancing. I can catch on to the steps pretty fast, I just don't know how to move my body I guess. Hopefully I will build up more of a dancing repetoire as I learn more.

I guess that's good for an intro, since I want to save some stuff to talk about so I don't repeat myself every single day. Yay for creativity-building!