Wow, last day! I can't believe it has already been a whole month, and pretty successful. It's kind of ironic, how my last paper of the semester was due today, as if it were a test to see if I had gotten better at writing. Since it is the last day of BEDA, I figured I would compile a list of conclusions I have drawn about my particular blogging style, and perhaps some things I have learned about myself in the process. I mean, what is the point of doing something for 30 days if you don't learn from it, right? But before I begin, you have to see this awesome video!
Let's start with some basic statistics:
# of days missed: 2 (only for lack of internet access, I promise!)
# of days late: 2 (no excuse really, sorry!)
I must say, that's a pretty decent job. We must always remember that no one is perfect.
And now, specially presenting:
- CONCLUSIONS I HAVE DRAWN FROM BEDA:
When in doubt, I most often write about rowing, food, and about how I am bad at writing/can’t think of anything to say. - It seems I am very self-centered, I always write about my life and what happened today rather than addressing issues in the world or writing poetry or fiction/fanfiction. (For the record I have never ever written fanfiction). I believe the reason I write about myself is because I know quite a lot about myself, and everything else takes research/time/effort.
- I probably come across dumber than I am. I know a lot more grammar than many people (for instance, the difference between your and you’re), but sometimes I write run-on sentences and such. Or maybe it’s the other way around, and I am just dumber than I like to think.
- I have realized blogging for me is mostly for when I have something to complain about, so I can quickly write it down and vent without having to annoy other people in my life with it, and you can choose to read it or not. I don’t know for the life of me how columnists can come up with something new and substantial to write about every day!
- I am not funny. Don’t get me wrong, I have a sense of humor, I just feel that if I try to be witty, it doesn’t come across right. And it’s not like many people (if any) read this, so who am I trying to entertain?
- I am not very creative with titles. Sometimes I would think of a good one, but I like consistency so on the off-days when I wouldn’t have had a good title, there was always a generic title. I might start titling my blog posts with random unrelated things if I don’t come up with anything now that BEDA is over and I don’t have a fallback plan, because there must ALWAYS be a title! My 11th grade English teacher suggested “My Little Pony” or “The Eagles’ Greatest Hits: Vol. II” if we couldn’t think of anything. I would like to come up with a few of my own.
- I go off topic a lot, and my thoughts do not flow well. I am hoping this gets better the more I write.
- I tend to write at the end of my day, for fear that I will have nothing to write about so I can always have a fallback plan and write about my day. That’s not the best plan in the world, seeing as most of my days are very similar: rowing, eat, shower, class, eat more, sometimes swing dancing or a cute anecdote, and wishing I could get more sleep.
- I don’t know if BEDA made me a better blogger, worse blogger, or just the same. Overall, I would say it was a worthwhile experience. I don’t know if I’ll continue the tradition next year, but it was fun while it lasted. Very distracting though, with the unlimited supply of new blogs to read when I was bored (a.k.a. avoiding homework).
So there you have it! Now I can get on with my life and blog about more interesting things when I happen to think of them. Actually they will probably be just as uninteresting, but whatever, you know what I mean.
In other news, my rowing clothing order came today, and the sweatpants are SO COMFY! :)
Song of the day: Into the Sunshine--Julia Nunes
HAHAAAHAHHHAHAHAAHHAAHAHAHAHA did anyone get Hankroll'd at the beginning? Probably I will just come across this post in the future and fall for it myself seeing as I have no regular readers that I know of, or maybe the link won't even work. Okay, I am really thirsty, so TTFN!

0 comments:
Post a Comment