CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Sunday, April 5, 2009

Day Five.

Today I am going to talk about sports culture. Yes, my school's team is in the NCAA basketball finals. I just don't get all the excitement surrounding it. Why do people get all obsessed with every single player and every single move they make and "oh, they're on TV so they must be famous". Maybe that's why I am an internet nerd...

But really, wasn't the sport invented a way long time ago because some people were bored? I mean, good for the people playing, they must be having fun, but you there in the stands, why do you care about watching? If they drop the ball, does it really affect you? Today my mom said that it also does have an effect on the economy because of all the hype surrounding it and people going out to bars and spending money and whatnot, and that's a good point I hadn't thought of before, but I still don't get it.

I prefer endurance sports like swimming, rowing, biking, running, skiing, etc. because they actually take work to become good at. Some people are naturally good at game sports, and all they are is just games. I may have seen a whole 30 seconds of the game yesterday, and I had no attention span for what ws going on at all. Maybe it's all just an excuse to get drunk and cause riots, if you like that sort of thing. I prefer my little blog-world, even if it's a bit anti-social. Maybe I should go comment on other peoples' blogs and make friends, then it wouldn't be anti-social, but right now I have to go to church.

0 comments: