CLICK HERE FOR BLOGGER TEMPLATES AND MYSPACE LAYOUTS »

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving!

I have been neglecting this blog a lot, not that anyone I know reads it, but I feel like it's a living thing that will get lonely or something. I am going home today for Thanksgiving! I was just home 3 days ago for the first time since Labor day and it was nice, and now I'm going again! Can't wait to see the clan! Last weekend I saw New Moon, and now I am definitely "team Jacob", because in the movie Edward isn't even hot, but in the books he is supposed to be, like, the dreamiest guy in the world. Whatever, I just wanted to do a quick update, maybe I will actually write in here more sometime...

Wednesday, September 30, 2009

Varsity Jacket

Ohmygod I got my varsity jacket for rowing! It is beautiful and new and shiny and I look awesome and you are jealous. Actually, I got it 2 days ago now, but not all of the excitement has worn off. It's perfect weather for a jacket now too, and I don't have to freeze!

Tomorrow I have a physics exam and I am not looking forward to it at all. That is all for now.

Saturday, September 26, 2009

I want to go eat dinner now.

I've been wanting to blog about how rowing practice in the morning affects my day. Today, for example, I woke up and it was still wet outside from raining and I didn't get enough sleep because I got home late from a barn dance, and it was chilly out and I was afraid it would rain on the water (I'm always afraid it will, but most of time it actually doesn't), and I thought practice was supposed to be 3 hours but it was only 2 hours and 15 minutes. My boat was pretty good today, and brunch with teammates afterward was really fun. So does the practice affect my mood, or does my mood affect how the practice feels to me? I don't know. Maybe more to come on this subject.

Tuesday, September 8, 2009

Busy.

So last night I was being really graceful as I walked out of the bathroom and my shoe got caught and the door hit me in the face, leaving me momentarily bewildered as to how that happened. I was afraid it would bruise, but I put a cold Capri Sun on my face for awhile to ice it, and luckily it doesn't look bad at all.

So today I decided to dress up in a skirt since I only have one class so I don't really need my bike. I just switched my math section though, and next week I will have engineering, so this time next week I will have 3 classes :( I also officially dropped stats, and I emailed the cafeteria people back for a job. Busy busy life. I still have so much to do though! I just made a paypal account so I can buy a heart rate monitor, and I have to get a loft and register my bike and make a resume and do homework and on and on and on.

well, now I have to straighten my hair and go have lunch!

Monday, September 7, 2009

I should have taken math over the summer

It would have made things so much easier, Then I would be done with math and I wouldn't have to drop stats, which would probably be easier, and I know someone, and it's at a much more convenient time. I didn't even do anything over the summer, I figured who knows if I'll ever have a free summer again, so why clutter it up with classes? I guess chem 2 summers ago was just a bad experience and made me not think good things about summer classes.

There must be some reason though, like would Ihave met someone if I did take summer math that would have changed my life? Because that's certainly not the case in my math right now. I don't know. I just feel stupid.

Right now I am at home for the last few hours of my Labor Day weekend, and I have rowing practice on Labor day, how stupid is that? It's supposed to be work-free! But I am going to work on my physics homework right now, work work work. Ughhhh.

I don't feel like doing a song of the day.

P.S. Ahhhh on Rachel Ray there are 15-year-old girls getting makeovers to look like Disney stars!!! Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh the world is being taken over by Disney Channel!!!

Friday, September 4, 2009

It's been a while.

I'm back at school. I guess I haven't felt like blogging since I've been saving most of my anecdotes for Fridays on livejournal and it's tedious to write it twice. But I figured I shouldn't just leave it sit forever. So here's what's goin' on:

  • I went to Florida with my aunt for over a week. It was too long but worth it.
  • I donated 10 inches of my hair and I got bangs.
  • I moved into my dorm with Katrina.
  • Rowing has started up again.
  • I have had 3 days of classes and now I'm home for labor day weekend.

Hopefully I'll be back soon :)

Song of the day: James Morrison--You Make it Real

P.S. I also got a new high score in gameboy Tetris: 272426!!!! I can't believe it!

Thursday, August 13, 2009

Nickelback is pretty good live.

So last night was the Nickelback concert, but I was too tired to blog about it when I got home and I was lazy all day today too (today as in the 12th, because it will say 13th on the blogsince it's after midnight, as it has also been in my last few posts). I slept until 1:00 in the afternoon, mostly because I was on the opposite side of my alarm clock so I didn't ever see what time it was. But the thing is, I actually went to bed around 2 which is an hour earlier than usual.

But the concert was really good. It also featured Saving Abel, Papa Roach, and Hinder, which were all okay but not very exciting. There was a drunk lady in front of us who I am very surprised never fell, as she was standing on a hill, drink in one had, cigarette in the other, and dancing all over the place. And during Papa Roach, there was a bald guy up farther who was headbanging and just generally having a number-one-fan time. Then when Nickelback finally came on, I was finally more excited because I knew more of their songs and everyone stood up and it got dark outside and they had sweet pyrotechnics and stuff. At one point, Chad Kroeger did a little Justin Timberlake impersonation, and he sang "I've got friends in low places" and of course all the regular hits.

I also ran into a girl on the rowing team, so it was cool to see someone I didn't expect to see. The rest of the people that Andrea and I sat with were people from my high school who I didn't ever talk to very much so it was a little awkward but it turned out alright. They kind of just ignored me, but I don't blame them at all.

Now on to some bad news. Andrea told me that her parents are getting divorced. Apparently her dad has been hooked on painkillers for quite a while, and her mom said he could either go to rehab or she would get a divorce. Alaska was the last straw, Andrea said she could barely stand him during the trip, and that was her special make-a-wish trip. So he moved out, and if they are getting divorced, her mom would most likely not be able to afford their house anymore so they are probably going to move. Honestly, Andrea is one of the strongest people I know, but I never realized it because she is so normal. She deals with so much, yet she is able to put up with it all and take it at face value. She has a blood disorder, which at one point the doctor's thought could possibly be leukemia, but thankfully it wasn't. And last year her cat died. And now she's going through this ordeal. I would be on the verge of crying all the time if I were her. In fact, just thinking about it makes me tear up even though it's not my life. She is one of my best friends and sometimes I feel like I neglect her. But I hope I can support her in the right way and that she will turn to God when she needs Him.

On a different note, I found out today that we have a new rowing coach. In the email, there was a bio of him, some workouts to do, and a schedule of all the regattas for the year. On the positive side, he looks really organized, but then he also seems very tough and competitive. Of course that's what most people want, but I don't know what to think about him yet. All I know is that I'm extremely out of shape, and I am going to be very busy when school starts and if he is going to improve our program I hope it doesn't take up even more time than I was planning for. Regardless, I am excited for recruiting and getting a varsity jacket and hopefully becoming closer to everyone and of course for the rowing itself.

Song of the Day: Alan Lastufka/Tom Milsom--Can't (I always think of this song when they play the little Disney jingle leading into commercial breaks on Disney channel and it's kinda frustrating haha)

Tuesday, August 11, 2009

Yesterday, today, tomorrow (and parenthetical statements).

Yesterday I went to the mall with the clan minus Bambi, who had to go back to school early for band camp. I even dressed up a little. Like usual I didn't buy anything. Except for a cinnamon bun from Cinnabon. I always seem to spend money on food. And I almost bought Paper Towns because they actually had it but I couldn't bring myself to spend $17.99, so I think I'll just wait for the paperback. I also wanted to buy sunglasses, and since I was wearing my contacts I could try them on for once, but I didn't find the perfect pair. Claire's had a lot of glasses, even fake clear ones with no prescription, and one pair especially reminded me of classic nerfighter glasses. I really like glasses. I am just not one to think I can pull them off if they are too out there.

But when we were pretty much done looking around, we sat in one of the loungy areas and just talked. Mostly about boys and about Bambi. We all feel like she is more distant from us lately, but we don't want to turn in into a repeat of the Priscilla situation and build it up in our heads to be more than it is. Let's face it--she has more friends than us and a more serious boyfriend. But we also know that she is good at hiding things and making us believe there is nothing wrong. So maybe there is nothing wrong.

Later, I watched a bit of "Who Wants to be a Millionaire" hosted for a limited time by Regis Philbin like old times. When I was in fourth grade my whole family used to gather around and watch that show together, and that's how we found out I needed glasses. I had always kind of secretly wanted glasses. And I thought it would be cool to have a retainer. That in itself should showcase my nerdiness. But I couldn't read the questions when everyone else could, so my parents took me in to get my eyes checked and I got my first pair of glasses. Oh the nostalgia.

Partway through the show, a magnificient storm started, kind of like the one earlier in the summer. I watched it through the window while my mom worried that a chair or something would fly through and blow up the house in my face. Thunderstorms are really fascinating and beautiful in a somewhat twisted way. Even my blog layout has to do with a thunderstorm. I seem to be drawn to water. I mean, swimming, rowing, and this might be stretching it--ice skating (frozen water!) Water is so simple yet so amazing. Speaking of swimming, I should do that sometime. And I want to go to the zoo.

Today I went to the doctor's to get a Hepatitis shot (2 of 3, I think), and I ended up getting a whole checkup where they weighed me (my brother and I weigh the same!) and checked my height, they pricked my finger, which still hurts a tiny bit, I had to pee in a cup and as usual they told me I need to drink more water (ironic how I like water, but not drinking it), and my arm is sore from the shot, which has a Snoopy band-aid on it. Of course, there was lots of waiting in the room for the doctor, so I passed the time by doing the picture search in the Highlights magazine like I did when I was a young'un. Then I stole two suckers when we were done.

Tomorrow I am going to a Nickelback concert. Not my favorite band in the world (*is still resentful of missing DCFC*) but I am still excited about it. Maybe I will dress up again and wear some old earrings that I went through and organized earlier.

Song of the day: Oliver Boyd and the Remembralls--Flash Bang Done
(although I am listening to Regina Spektor's myspace at the moment and I may just have to stay up later than I planned so I can listen to the whole thing.)

Wednesday, August 5, 2009

Neopets, balancing, and rhetorical questions.

Recently I've gotten over 10 million neopoints on neopets. woot! Is that sad, actually, that I'm 18 and I am still saving up for the same avatar that I decided I wanted like 2 years ago? Probably. But they have good games! And I quite enjoy my nerd life, thank you very much.

I didn't have anything else planned to write about than that, I just thought it was something worth noting. But since I am here with a pretty empty white box to fill, I should probably come up with a whole blog. I guess I need to practice writing about anything and everything so that when BEDA comes around next year, I'll be ready.

Ummm, tomorrow I'm going to the chiropractor. That's exciting, right? Okay, it's not. Oh yeah, I also recently figured out that the Brotherhood 2.0 intro song was from Death Cab for Cutie (I am still mad about not being able to see them in concert because of rowing) so I "completed my album" on itunes, even though it re-downloaded 2 songs I already had. I also decided to get the rest of the Coldplay album, since I like a lot of songs on it already.

Speaking of music, most of the time when I listen to stuff on the computer (music or videos or whatever), I use headphones so as not to disturb the other people in my house. But the headphones on our family computer only work in the left ear, and I think being used to listening to stuff in only one ear has made me more comfortable with listening to my ipod in my left ear than my right, when I am only listening in one ear so I can still hear other stuff going on around me. Is that weird? I think I have asked 3 rhetorical questions in this post already. But to get back on topic, I don't like being unbalanced. Yet I also like having a sense of familiarity that comes with knowing something is mine or my way. I always thought it would be cool to be ambidextrous. And I don't think I've ever excelled in any one thing most because I don't know what I like the most, so I don't want to give anything up and become worse at the other things and then find out I really don't like the one thing I chose less than something else. Does that make sense? Oops, that makes 4. But it makes sense in my head. I wish I had more articulate thoughts. This seems to be a good place to cutt off this post.

Song of the day: Kings of Leon--Sex on Fire

Tuesday, August 4, 2009

Meandering thoughts of early August...

So tomorrow I'm going to see Harry Potter for the 3rd time. I totally forgot to mention one of the things I was disappointed in was the cutting of the Dursley scene at the beginning, but obviously you can't have everything.

Recently I was invited on facebook by a fellow rower to go skydiving. I wasn't sure, but then I thought, I really really do want to go. But I knew my parents might not be able to handle the worry, they could barely stand to think about my brother going parasailing in Florida, and that's nothing compared to this. So I didn't tell them about it, but my brother saw me looking at the page and he was all "you are going skydiving! I want to go skydiving soooo bad!" and I was like "I was invited to go, but it's the same day as the family reunion :(" So maybe we could go together someday when I have $200 to spare. In fact, Indigo found out that skydiving has a lower fatality rate than childirth!

On the topic of death (sorry about the morbid segue), today my grandpa on my mom's side would have turned 90 if he was still alive. So my mom took my grandma out to lunch and to visit his grave, and I went along and had some crappy chocolate chip pancakes and jumbo sausages. The cemetary he is at is really big and most of the gravestones are little rectangles on the ground so if you don't go there often it's hard to find and the grass grows over the edges and it's really kind of sad. But we brought a little American flag to stick in the ground there since he was a veteran of World War II. I never knew either of my grandfathers, they both died before I was born, and the only other "close" relative of mine that's died was my grandma on my dad's side when I was 6 or 7. Since I was so little it didn't really register as much I guess, so it's hard for me to think about death since I've never experienced the death of someone really close firsthand. I don't really know where I ws going with this, just that I can't imagine what it's like to be old like my grandma and all her friends are dying off, and it must be really sad.

On a happier note, someone talked to me on facebook the other day and it pretty much made my whole summer. Whatever the motive, I can't stop thinking about him and it's driving me crazy, so I'm trying to be rational about it, but I just have this feeling inside me that makes it hard to sit still. So yeah.

In other news, my aunt decided she's going to take me to Florida for a week. I'm not sure what to feel about this yet, because it was sort of sprung on me quite fast and it's just going to be us two and I'm not sure what we're going to do, but I feel like we should visit my other aunt who lives in Florida at some point because she would be really upset if she found out I was so close and didn't see her. And when I get back, I'm only going to have 5 days until I go back to school. I'm 18, I shouldn't feel so upset about going away for a week, but I feel like I'm going to cry when I go and when I come home and then when I go back to school again. But I guess that's just a part of me that I have to learn to live with or get over it. I just don't take change well when it's forced on me. I will also miss Andrea's birthday while I'm gone, so I guess I'll send her a postcard and maybe get her a souvenir even though she's been there before. I really wanted to go to Florida next summer for the opening of the Harry Potter theme park and convention and movie and stuff, but maybe I still will be able to, or maybe I wouldn't have been able to anyways.

Song of the day: Metric--Gimme Sympathy (I'm obsessed with this right now, hopefully it doesn't get old if I listen to it too much!)

Sunday, July 26, 2009

John Williams is my favorite composer

Well, after seeing HBP for the second time, I think I liked it more. There were a lot of good parts, it's just that last time, the thing that stuck in my mind was Harry and Ginny's kiss in the Room of Requirement. I think this is because I loved it in the book when Ginny wins the quidditch match and then it's just so simple, "And Harry kissed her," but it was just so bad in the movie. I still think the Burrow attack scene was weird, but I take back what I said about lack of uniforms. They did have them on in the Great Hall and during some scenes, but I just don't picture wearing Converse and flannel shirts when he's not wearing his robes. I don't really remember everything I said in my last post, but it's possible I've changed my mind about a couple other things too.

So on Friday I had a clan sleepover at my house, because we haven't really celebrated anyone's birthday, so we combined them. It's great to be with my very best friends, even when we don't do anything. Indigo's sister bought us cheap wine and we split it, but none of us are very into alcohol, so it was hard to finish. I really don't understand how people can drink so much at parties and stuff. It kind of hurt my throat every time I swallowed, and I wondered why people can drink things that are bad for them to get drunk, even if it tastes bad, but people don't really eat things that taste bad if they are good for them, such as brussels sprouts. Why are humans self-destructive? We also took lots of pictures and ate junk food and stayed up late (for some) and talked about boys and college and life.

And just a while ago, I decided to play my flute. It's been over a year, and I wanted to see how much I remembered or forgot, and replay all the fun songs. I of course played Simple Gifts, our freshman/junior year solo & ensemble song, and Children's March and a bit of Canon and Baroque Hoedown and lots more. Of course I skipped the hard parts which I could never play and went at my own speed on the fast parts, but I was pleasantly surprised at how well I did. But my favorite by far was the John Williams marching band show from my freshman year. They make me soooooo so HAPPY. That was the year I found my best friends, and our friendship blossomed and grew and shaped who I am today. I wish I had access to a baritone, that would just make me overflow right now. I wish I had a pensieve so I could go back and look at band camp memories and tag days and the first clan ceremony bringing us together as sisters and just everything ever. Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhooooooooooohaskjghoa;uhgk!!!

Haha that was so off the cob...

Song of the day: Metric--Help I'm Alive

Monday, July 20, 2009

Badly written thoughts upon first viewing of HBP

Yesterday I saw the new Half-Blood Prince movie finally! After waiting 8 extra months, I figured I could wait a couple days after it came out instead of seeing it at the midnight release for a few reasons: First, I was finishing re-reading all the books up to that point (because everyone knows the books are so much better), and second, some of my friends would not be able to come then, and third, because 2 years ago for Order of the Phoenix, we were the only ones at our theater who were dressed up and I was really disappointed, so it's not that I was not enough of a hard core fan to see it at midnight, it's that I was too true of a fan to care about parading it around to people who aren't. woot. This paragraph sucks.

Overall, it was good. In my opinion, worse than the 5th only because it was too cheesy, and of course none will beat the first 2, but much better than the 3rd and 4th because they did a horrible job with those. (so my tentative order of liking is 1,2,5,6,3,4)
Now that I've covered that (with bad sentence structure), I will move on to review some more detailed points I remember from my first viewing of the movie. I wrote down a lot of things, so this is going to be really long. I don't notice the acting quite as much as whether things were in the movie or not, unless it is really good or really bad. And a general disclaimer is probably in order: I understand that things need to be cut out for time and money's sake, and adapted for better viewing on the screen, and emphasized to be made more obvious so non-book-readers can follow. However, I am still resentful, but the movies are what I have to look forward to now that all the books are finished.

Complaints (in no particular order):

  • The cave is made of ice blocks! Or are they glass blocks? Caves are made of ROCK!!! How did Dumbledore not melt the island with all that fire? And the potion could easily have been made green like it is in the book--that is just and unnecessary change, though it probably wouldn't matter to most people.
  • Death eaters do not become smoke and fly away, they apparate like everyone else!
  • Lack of Hogwarts school uniforms!
  • Ginny and Harry's kiss in the room of requirement! So AWKWARDly done and cheesy!
  • Lack of Parvati Patil.
  • Not enough Tonks
  • No apparation lessons! (okay, apparition. I prefer apparation)
  • Where is the minister of magic?
  • Dmbledore's death scene did not make me cry, it looked fake. (also should be noted that Sirius's death scene was not done justice either!) Harry should have been invisible/paralyzed, but it is understandable that he does not wear the cloak in the movie so the audience can see him.
  • Although Michael Gambon acted like Dumbledore this time, I realized I still don't like his gravelly voice, because sometimes you just can't understand some words that come out of his mouth. And he still doesn't wear glasses!
  • Dumbledore's wand was just sitting on his desk at the end! Wtf, where is it going to end up?!?!
  • Stuff I already knew was cut, like the battle with the death eaters at the end; why did they need to show up if there was no fight? No Bill and Fleur, no Dumbledore's funeral, but it was still disappointing that it had to be left out.
  • The added Burrow scene! Where are they going to live now? Did they just let it burn to the ground? WTF! And Harry and Ginny running through the corn stalks into a puddle!
  • The soundtrack was disappointing because it used the same songs as OotP, plus more cryptic "ooooh"s from the choir, and probably some more tracks that I didn't notice. I really REALLY hope John Williams comes back for the last movies!!!

Delights:

  • Luna, of course.
  • The Malfoy-stomping-Harry's-nose-on-the-train scene.
  • Malfoy in general.
  • Quidditch was good.
  • Slughorn was EXCELLENT!
  • I loved Harry and Ron's fight for the newer-looking potions book, it was cute!
  • Bellatrix was good, except a little overdone with the speaking to people's shoulders thing.
  • So many lines directly from the book!

The bad things seem to outweigh the good things here, but really it was very enjoyable. I want to see it again soon so I can take in more of the little things that I might have missed the first time.

Song of the day: The Moaning Myrtles: Bathroom Acoustics

Thursday, July 2, 2009

thisisnottom

Here I am eating yogurt again. I'm getting used to it, but the fact that I'm eating it just to eat is not good. I hoped that getting my wisdom teeth out would help tame my eating habits, but now I'm just looking around for only soft foods instead of any foods. But like I always say, oh well. Do I care enough to do anything? I don't know yet.

I haven't showered or brushed my teeth or gone anywhere in the past 2 days. And yet, I don't feel that disgusting, except for my cheeks being puffy from the swelling. I mean, I haven't done anything active, so there is no reason for me to be smelly. Some people are really uptight about hygiene, but most of the time it's not as bad as it seems if you don't make a big deal out of it. Maybe I'm just lucky or something, that my hair is not too greasy for anyone to notice. And I think I have a bad sense of smell, but no one else seems to notice anything either. I'm not saying that I have bad hygiene, I just don't like wasting time and clean water and stuff when I don't really need to at the moment. This is getting a little difficult to write about...

I've mostly been reading and watching TV for the past couple days. I just started Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, which I will probably finish soon and start Goblet of Fire before I go up north next week. I want to finish Half-Blood Prince before the movie comes out July 15th. I'm so excited for the movie! But anyways, I'm not sure if I'll finish on time, but it won't be a big deal. I've also been reading the thisisnottom story. I don't really get the whole idea with the clues and ending with a new chapter, I'm just going to the spoilers and it's been fun to read so far. I don't know, some people think it's real, but I'm skeptical of that. Well, back to more reading! This was a really bad post haha.

Song of the day: Bell X1--The Great Defector

Tuesday, June 30, 2009

Me wants a Frosty!

I am bored. And not wise anymore. Just kidding, I only got my wisdom teeth out today. But I wasn't lying about the bored. I can't eat anything unless it's soft, so right now I'm eating yoghurt and I am not a big fan of yoghurt. And I'm supposed to ice the sides of my mouth on and off every 20 minutes, but I have been slacking a bit in between because the ice packs don't last very long and I figure they'll freeze a little more if they are in the freezer longer.

What I REALLY WANT is a Frosty from Wendy's. But I can wait awhile. Maybe I'll tell my mom to get me one on her way home from work, but that would be out of the way, and I don't want it to melt too much on the way home, so I should probably go too.

Right now I'm also listening to Brooke White's myspace. She was one of my favorites on American Idol last season (2008, I didn't watch the 2009 one since I was at college). I think "Love is a Battlefield" is my favorite of hers, even though it's not the full length of the song and I think it might be the recording from AI, but it's still good. But I haven't listened to enough of her own songs to decide for sure.

I also wanted to talk about my mosquito bites. Working at Aunt G's picking weeds is not really too bad of a job, except it gets hot and sweaty and I smell horrible after, but the worst part by far is the mosquito bites. For some reason, I have only about 2 on my whole right side, and maybe 13 on my left side if I had to guess. It's probably my fault for not wearing bug spray, but honestly, I don't know if I believe how much that stuff works anyways.

Here's to hoping that my mouth heals enough by the time we go up north next week! Maybe my stomach will shrink before then if I'm lucky. It's not that I want to be a skinny little thing, I just don't want other people to have to look at my ugly bulging stomach all week, since I'm going to be wearing a bikini. Why are bikinis cool anyway? I don't get it.

Song of the day: End of an Era by Oliver Boyd and the Remembralls
(I'll probably use this song again someday for a real end of an era, it is SO GOOD! But it got in my head. Note to self: he kinda sounds like James Morrison I think.)

P.S. I can't believe it's the last day of June already!

Thursday, June 25, 2009

R.I.P. and Thunderstorms

It's been awhile since my last blog, and I've been telling myself I would get around to it for a couple weeks, having been journaling more instead of blogging, but today I couldn't pass it up. There was just too much that happened. Michael Jackson trending topics on twitter beat out the Iran Election! It's funny how death can be so sudden and you never expect a tragedy, but then Michael Jackson just stops breathing. And of course, Farrah Fawcett, but she has had cancer for 3 years, so it's not as surprising.

And possibly coincidental (?) there was a HUGE thunderstorm today. It was pouring in sheets and trees fell on houses (luckily not mine) and we have leaves all over our backyard from the wind knocking them off of the giant tree next door. I really wanted to go outside and dance in the rain and get soaked, and just enjoy the thunderstorm, it seemed so spectacular, but the city's warning sirens started going off so my mom told me to go in the basement, and I did even though I wanted to at least watch. My poor kitty was out in the rain, probably hiding under the back steps so she didn't get wet, because she knew if she did she would be soaked. Later it rained a little lighter and I went out and got her.

The thunderstorm also caused a power outage at my grandma's apartment so she is staying here for the night, in my bed, so I have to sleep in Johnny's room. I don't mind, but I really should be in bed right now since I have to get up in about 7 hours to go to my aunt's and clear more overgrown weeds out of her garden. According to my mom, they should be easier to pull after the rain, so hopefully that's true.

On a completely unrelated note (though I'm sure I could relate it somehow if I cared enough to try), I'm really jealous that my brother got to go parasailing today in Florida. I really want to go parasailing!

More unrelated stuff I want to mention but I'm also tired and want sleep: I recently finished reading "My Sister's Keeper" the other day and it was a really good book. The reason I read it was because the movie is coming out, but now I don't know if I could even handle the movie, I would probably cry through the whole thing. Also, I haven't yet given up on "The Secret Life of the American Teenager" on ABC Family; I just can't give up my hope that maybe it will get better. Maybe they just have really good advertising. Okay, I think that's enough for tonight.

Song of the Day: Thriller by Michael Jackson
[EDIT:] And I also had to add another: Laughing With by Regina Spektor

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Middle Earth.

I totally forgot yesterday to mention yesterday, we went to a little shop called "Middle Earth". Of course, anyone would expect it to be some eccentric geeky awesome Lord of the Rings store, but I was very disappointed when I went inside. It was cool and all, the name was just very misleading. They sold wrapping paper and knick-knacks and coffee mugs with sayings on them, and stuff like that. So anti-climactic.

Today is my cousin's birthday party and I'm gonna pig out on chips once again! I really need to stop eating so much, or start working out a lot more. Or both would be good too.

Song of the day: Josh Turner—Would You Go With Me

Because of Wizard Rock.

Here is my "short story". I was going to write a real one, but I wimped out and only wrote about 2 paragraphs. But then last night, I was goofing off with Johnny and I just started writing down some ridiculous randomness that represents our conversations. That's one good thing about my brother, he brings out the crazy in me. The "why", "because of wizard rock" thing is because I showed him the Moaning Myrtles song "Transparent" and he was mad that I got it into his head, so now the answer to every question beginning with "why" is "because of wizard rock", and it's kind of a game. It makes sense if you listen to the song.

“Why?”
“Because of wizard rock.”
“Man, okay we’re still tied, but don’t worry, I’ll get you back my pretty, before the sun falls out of the sky” threatened Tess, turning into a wicked witch of the west.
*Mysterious evil laughter surrounds the brother and sister*
“Where did that evil laughter come from?” asked Jack.
“I don’t know,” replied Tess, “wanna play Tetris?”
“No are you crazy?!? The Red Wings still have to win the Stanley Cup!”
“Who cares about sports?”
“What an abomination! You know, you can’t go through life thinking everything’s all fine and dandy and mushrooms and pancakes” Jack retorted.
“Three…two…one…ZERO! Well, it’s over now, the Red Wings officially lost.”
*sobbing is heard from the corner of the room*
Waaaaaaaahhh why do they have to suck so bad? Waaaaahhhhhh”
“Because of wizard rock (*snickers*). But really, it’s alright. There’s always next year.”
“Darn.” *all signs of crying magically disappear*
“That’s right, you can’t fool me,” Tess cried victoriously.
“Fine, I’m gonna go eat a popsickle now.”
“Popsickles are so futuristic.”
“You spelled popsicles wrong.”
“How do you know, do we have a box of sugar-free Popsicle-brand popsicles to prove it?”
*Jack goes to freezer, snaps fingers, sugar-free Popsicle-brand popsicle box flies to front*
“Oh. I guess I have to change it now. And I’m sorry I didn’t take your word for it.”
*both take popsicles*
“Like really, though, why do you eat so many freakin’ popsicles a day? You’re like an addict.”
“I have a strict diet, 5 or more a day. I mean, I can’t disobey the doct-”
“YES I WINNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!” Tess cut him off, chortled at her cleverness and skipped off into the sunset.

...Yeah, so there it is. Weird, I know.

In other news, today I went to visit Emily at her aqua-colored apartment for a "potluck" along with a few rowers from the Ann Arbor area. The cat who belongs to the owner who she's subleasing from is so cute! Isn't Kiwi a cute name for a cat? I thought of another great cat name the other day, but unfortunately I forgot it, and I hope I remember it someday so I can write it down.

But anyways, we went (out the window) to Blimpy Burger, and the girl at the grill was SO ANGRY! And the condiment/topping guy was a jerk too. It was absolutely HILARIOUS! The deep-fryer guy was fine though. Apparently they have a very specific way of ordering stuff, but how was I supposed to know, it was my first time?!?! So when I said what kind of cheese I wanted before she cooked my burger, she freaked out. "You don't put cheese on RAW BURGERS!" I am so glad we went so I can treasure that memory for the rest of my life.

Tuesday, June 9, 2009

I'm just a girl.

I kind of want to update my facebook profile with my "favorites" but I don't know why I should. To me, those things are special and set me apart, but when you really look at it and average out everyone's, they look all the same. I'm just a girl. Like it says in my blog description, "I'm just a girl wondering what to do with her life." That's so cliche. It basically describes every girl. I dunno, it doesn't matter though.

In other news, I'm trying to write a "short story" (it's going to end up very short) for my livejournal blog that I share with my friends. I don't have much creative writing experience on my own, just what I've done for English classes, so it was hard to start, but I think I have a vague idea now. I should write more often, then I could use up ideas and it would get easier too. So I might post that on here too when I am done.

Song of the day: Blue October--Into the Ocean

Thursday, June 4, 2009

Artsy.

I don't really have much in mind to write about today. I have been feeling artsy lately. Like, I want to write, fiction and stuff, but I don't know how to start. I have always wanted to be good at writing, but I think I've always been too self-conscious and I don't have a big vocabulary or much imagination. So I decided to read instead. I never finished Anne of Green Gables, which my aunt gave me when I was younger, so I decided to start from the beginning. I also have to reread Harry Potter 2-6 before the 6th movie comes out July 15th. I recently read Sorcerer's Stone, and I can read Deathly Hallows after the movie. Anyways, I don't know why I am writing about such trivial things.

Today I went to downtown Detroit with some friends and we saw Caravan of Thieves perform, and it was pretty interesting. They are an "acoustic swing" band, a genre I've never heard of, but I enjoy acoustic stuff. They were really good and interesting, and I am listening to some songs on their website right now, deciding whether I should buy their CD on itunes.

I also tried to clean my room a little today. I haven't unpacked hardly anything since coming home from college, I have been so lazy. So mostly I put away a lot of clothes that were strewn about the floor, and now you can see a good deal more of it than before, which makes it easier to maneuver around without jumping over everything.

Song of the day: Freaks by Caravan of Thieves

Wednesday, June 3, 2009

If I had a million dollars...

"We wouldn't have to eat Kraft dinner"
"But we would eat Kraft dinner"
"Of course we would, we'd just eat more, and buy really expensive ketchups with it"
"That's right, all the fanciest ketch--Dijon ketchups!"
"MMMM"

Monday, June 1, 2009

Young Johnny Depp


...what can I say?

I wish there were undo/redo buttons in real life.

Trusty blog! Always here when I need you! NOT! Stupid internet wasn’t working, so I had to settle for ranting in word and then posting later so I don’t forget how mad I was. So I went to add a song to this mondo list of songs I have...er, had. But apparently I accidentally DELETED IT! I might vaguely remember emptying the recycle bin and thinking nothing in there was important. GRRR. Over half of it was on my home computer before I got a laptop, so I can get that once our computer gets back from being fixed, but there was also a growing list of songs that were not in the original document, and now I have to remember them all from the top of my head before I grow old and don’t remember anything. Ok, maybe that’s a bit overdramatic, but it’s only in my head. It’s not like I am violent or anything, I am just ranting in a blog. Blogblogblog.

Anyways, I finally got together with the clan today, minus one. I have all this free time, yet we can't seem to find a time when all of us are free. It WILL happen though, eventually.

I really want to go to the wizard rock show (Moaning Myrtles, Whomping Willows, maybe others?) in Ohio on Wednesday, but I will probably not end up going because it's a long drive and I don't know if anyone could/would want to go with me. :( Why is it so hard to be a Harry Potter fan?!? I have still never been to any wrock shows or HP gatherings of any sort, except for midnight release of DH which was not as great as it could have been because EVERYONE wants to read the last book, not just hard core fans, and because my friend's now-ex (thank God) boyfriend was with us.

I realize I never really use names in this blog, and I don't really know why. It's not like anyone is going to stalk me, seeing as I am not interesting at all, and I still don't know if anyone reads this. Soooo...yeah. That's that.

Song of the day: The Proclaimers--I'm Gonna Be (500 miles)

Saturday, May 30, 2009

End of season, part II.

Ok, a little overdue, but I am finally getting around to finishing my blog about the weekend. After the first day, a bunch of people went swimming in the lake in the backyard of the house we were at. No one brought bathing suits, so a lot of people wore spandex or unis. I wore my uni, because I didn’t have anything else and I didn’t want to miss out. So it was definitely wet in the morning and I had to put it on for my race. It was a lot wetter than Sarah’s which made her feel a little better because she likes to complain and it was good for her to know that mine was worse. I didn’t really care though, I had a wet uni in Philly too when I lent it to Mary for her to weigh in and then it rained, soaking everyone and everything, so I knew it would dry faster if I put it on. Also, I have an awesome uni-tan now. More of a burn actually, but it’s peeling and slowly turning into a tan. I have to even it out now though, which is going to be pretty tough. I need to learn to use sunscreen more…oops.

My mom also took a lot of pictures at the regatta. I appreciate all the pictures, sure, and we finally took a boat picture, but she also uses the video camera a lot. This I would appreciate if she took it of the right things, but she follows my boat around when we are carrying it and when I look bad in general. Ugg. Maybe someday I will be grateful for these videos of me, but I haven’t actually seen them yet.

The ride back was long, as usual, but there were only 3 of us in the back seat. So I actually had a lot of room, but it’s too far to lean on someone then, or maybe it’s just me, and I could not sleep well at all. Then when we got back around 2:00 am, there was of course a party celebrating the last regatta and the end of the season. I don’t drink, but basically everyone else was. I was just staying up because I don’t like to miss out on stuff and I was waiting for my coxswain to get there in case she had paper plate awards for our boat. And I wasn’t really tired anymore by then. So when the rest of my boat got there, except one wasn’t coming, they were like “come on, we’re doing a shot together!” but they said it didn’t have to be alcohol since I don’t drink, so I did half-and-half, which was kind of a big event, but not really. Then I went back to lurking around the edges and watching drunk people dancing silly. Then just before 5:00, Piano Man finally came on, and when that song comes on it’s tradition for all the guys drop down to their underwear and stand in a circle and sing it, and sometimes the girls gather in the middle, so I got pulled into that. Then I went to bed for about 2 hours before I was asked if I wanted to go to breakfast, so I went with 2 other sober people and 5 still-drunk people who made it through the night and we all got pancakes, while the hostess sat the police about 2 tables away, and it was really funny.

Then I slept more, and finally went home for the summer, which was happy and sad at the same time. Now I have been sleeping in my own BED and there is food in the fridge/cupboards most of the time, and I get to see my kitty :) I will miss people over the summer, but I’m definitely glad for the comforts of home and the friends who live here. So far I haven’t done much, I looked at a lot of facebook pictures, I went to Meijer with my mom and it was all rearranged and weird, I made oatmeal chocolate-chip cookies with Annie, and I went to the high school band concert which made me reminisce about the good old days in band before everything was remodeled. And apparently 19 teachers are retiring next year! Everything is changing so much, which I suppose is inevitable, but it’s sad, it doesn’t feel the same anymore. I feel like I’m getting old so fast!

[Edit:] I forgot the song of the day AGAIN! Anyways, it is: Transparent by the Moaning Myrtles

Wednesday, May 27, 2009

Last regatta of the season!

It’s been a while, and a lot has happened. I of course put off writing about anything, because no matter how hard I try, I just can’t seem to find it a way to let out my feelings because I have a negative perspective toward writing in general, like all the years of writing papers, and it just takes time and such. But I think about blogging a lot, and all the things I would like to remember, and it is easier than journaling, even though I do like the actual handwriting aspect of journaling. Anyways, moving on to actual stuff.

Thursday was my last day of boredom before I got to head home. I actually went and walked down Grand River with Katrina and we hung out at Barnes and Noble for a long time, and I was tempted to buy books but I resisted because they are so expensive and I can always go to the library. I really want to read Paper Towns and Maureen Johnson books and classics like Pride and Prejudice and everything, but I can wait for now. Then we went to Insomnia Cookies and I had a snicker doodle and a chocolate chunk cookie and they were delicious, even though I probably should have spent money on a book rather than cookies. Then I think I probably watched more TV or something, until it was time to get ready to meet at Dem at 1:00 a.m. to depart for Tennessee. Emily also came by the house after her practice because she was dropped off and had nowhere else to go, and I hadn’t seen her in about a week since we had different practice times and she was going back and forth from school a lot.

Then we had a 12ish hour van ride down to Tennessee, rigged the boats, had practice, the lightweights and coxswains weighed in, and then we went to the house of the grandparents of a girl on the team where we ate dinner. The neighborhood was amazingly nice, even nicer than my mom’s friend Phyllis’s house! The team was split up to stay at 8 different houses nearby of very nice hospitable people, and everyone got a bed or at least an air mattress to sleep on, which was very nice compared to the floor that I’ve been on for the past 2 weeks. The house that my boat stayed in was so nice, very spacious and they had 2 double beds for us in the basement, and they let us use all 3 of their showers, and they were even kind enough to give us towels to use. I kept thinking the whole time, people actually live there! I could not imagine living in a house that nice. Not to mention they probably have a spectacular view in the backyard, if it’s anything like the other house where we ate, which had a deck upstairs looking out on the dock where they had a boat and beautiful mountains in the background over the water. Tennessee is definitely up there on my list of favorite states.

The next morning we woke up early like usual to head back to the main house where all the vans would drive us to the race site, which is the same one as SIRA, which is soooo pretty. My first race pretty early, and my parents came all the way to watch me. I felt bad that they were mostly just standing around because they don’t understand anything about rowing and they don’t know anyone and it is just a lot of standing around anyways, but it was nice of them and they enjoyed it a little at least. In my first race we came in 2nd in our heat out of 3 heats for the WV4+, so we had to come in 1st in the semifinals to move to the grand finals, but we came in 2nd again. Both races were close though, we were behind near the middle and then we moved through other boats and both times we were in the boat of the 1st place. So we ended up in the petite finals and we got third, which didn’t really matter anyways since it doesn’t count for anything, but we had a good last race of the season, at least in my novice-in-a-varsity-boat opinion. It would probably help if I was a more competitive person, but it is kind of unmotivating if you don’t have a chance to win anything no matter how well you do.

This is getting pretty long, and it’s a lot later than I wanted to stay up, so I’m going to continue it tomorrow…

I have forgotten songs of the day in my last 2 posts, but I actually remembered this time!
Song of the day: Dave Matthews Band—Funny the way it is

Monday, May 18, 2009

Embarrassing parents and a feast.

I really honestly thought I would blog more this week, but there are too many people around. I wish I could just remember all the things I thought to blog about because there are so many things I've been thinking about since I am so bored, but all of them can't stay in my head at once.

This past Saturday was the rowing picnic, like how we would have banquets for other sports in high school. I didn't think coach was going to talk that much, but I have realized rambling is pretty much a requirement of being a coach. It was nice to eat lots of food since I have been limiting myself due to not wanting to go out/spend money. Then I went home for the day with my parents. I got to see my kitty and my mom did my laundry and my brother drove us to church and we went to Sonic and my mom made me pick up job applications from a couple places. I know I need a job, but I HATE applications/forms/paperwork. Uggh. My parents asked if I was craving any certain foods since they know I have not been eating real food in a while. I said pizza (not from Little Caesar's) and a smoothie. It's surprising, living in a college house, that I have not actually had real pizza yet. Today I had a brunch with some of the guys though and it was nice to eat real food. I was lame and contributed English muffins, but it was enough that I got to have scrambled eggs and steak & potatoes and a lemon poppyseed muffin with icing.

Speaking of "some of the guys", when my parent came to pick up my stuff on Saturday, it was funny to see their reaction to the house. I am sleeping in a basement bedroom with 3 other guys, and it's ironic, because I am actually the girl that is least sleeping with guys. there are 2 couples sharing mattresses on the third floor, and another girl who mooches off other guys to share their bed because she didn't want to sleep on the floor. They really are good guys though.

My dad thought the house was so "classic", he wanted to take a picture of me in front of it because he couldn't believe I was staying at a place so grungy. I refused, but he took a picture of the house by itself anyways. And when they dropped me back off, they also picked up my bike from my old dorm where I left it because I didn't need it and they realized they never got a picture of me in front of my dorm and when are we going to come back here, so they made me stand in front of it and take a picture, even though there is construction in the background and you probably can't even read the name of the building in the photo. Then when they took me back to the house, they made me learn how to open the basement window, just in case there was a fire, and then my mom wanted to be introduced to everyone who was outside (participating in "wine and hammock day"), and one of the guys in my room said he had a fifth of vodka laying in there so he went in and put it in the freezer when he saw my parents drive up. I love my parents a lot; they are great people and I admire them, but they are pretty embarrassing sometimes. But I figure everyone's parents are embarrassing at times and other people aren't going to judge me for that, yet I just pretend it's not happening and then I go back to being awkward and lurky. Oh my life...

Thursday, May 14, 2009

Out of internet hibernation.

Hello blog, long time no see! I went without a computer for a whole week! Not on purpose, but surprisingly it wasn't actually that hard. I was really busy, so I guess I was distracted. Finals ended on Wednesday and then I had to hurry up and pack up my whole dorm room and move my stuff to a teammate's apartment where I would be staying for 2 weeks after we got back from Pennsylvania, so until Sunday I didn't have internet because I was out of town, and then when we got back, the apartmenit didn't have wireless internet.

Then the girl's roommate freaked out about all of us rowers staying there and we had to move to the crew house, which is a smelly house full of guys. So that's where I am now. I didn't notice it much when I was just here for a few hours at a time for a party, but I could not imagine actually living here. I guess that's why I'm not a guy. The negatives: it smells like alcohol on the first floor, and it smells just plain bad on the third floor (the second floor and basement aren't horrendous I guess, but not as pleasant as I would prefer, but I am living with it), and it's raining outside so I can't spend my time out there where it smells like nature. And I don't have food to cook for meals because I'm lazy and I hate cooking and I thought I would just go out more. So basically I feel like I am just lurking/moping around all the time with nothing to do and not fitting in. It's not as bad as I make it seem though. I mean, there are positives; for one, I have internet now so I am not as bored. And some of the guys staying here are pretty cute. So here I am in a basement bedroom writing in my blog...

I also got my grades back when I finally got internet, and I got what I think I deserved. I mean, I was just glad that I didn't fail anything at this point. So I guess that means I did on the good side of what I expected. I did horrible on my last paper for U.S. and the World, which was almost half my grade, so I guess I could have done better, but I was just sick of the stupid topic that I already wrote about twice, "Why did the U.S. move from relative isolationism to and international role and what were the consequences of this shift", over extended time periods. I am not a history person or a writer, plus I am a major procrastinator, and I didn't want to take the class, but it was the only one open. I'm just glad it's over. No homework for like 3 whole months! I just have to find a summer job now.

That's all I feel like writing right now, but I'm sure there is a ton more to talk about and I have what seems like an infinite amount of time this week, so I will probably write a lot more when I get bored. Peace!

Tuesday, May 5, 2009

Double-life.

Sooooo...I should of course be studying for my last BIG exam tomorrow, but of course I'm not. So I'm writing instead. Tomorrow I am supposed to move out of my dorm and move some of my stuff into the apartment where I'll be staying for the 2-ish weeks after we get back from Dad Vails and before ACRAs. It's weird to think that tomorrow is the last day of my first year of college. It doesn't feel like an ending, but maybe that's just because I'm coming back. This time last year, I was getting senioritis and wanting to have freedom for the summer, but scared as hell of going away to college and not seeing my pseudosisters every day. It's crazy how much has happened in the past year. I feel like I should write a list or something, but it just doesn't feel like the end. I will be sad to leave rowing for the summer, and worried that I might not be able to find a part-time job, and miss the fact that I can do whatever I want whenever I want without telling my parents where I'm going, when I'm going, how I'm getting there, when I'll get back. But I am really excited to be home too. I have 2 separate lives now, and it's just a weird concept to think about.

Song of the day: Kelly Clarkson--My Life Would Suck Without You
(These are harder than I thought--usually I just use the song in my head at the time, but now I have to try to get a new song in my head when I post because it's a repeat. Or sometimes the song in my head is a song that is really annoying/I don't like/I don't know the name of and I don't want to write down a bad song for the song of the day, so I have to find a good one. I'm gonna go eat lunch see if that inspires me. Also, apparently I have exactly 333 songs on my iPod right now.)

Monday, May 4, 2009

This is not supposed to be morbid...I'm just sayin'

Finals week is in full swing now. Today was my first one, for "Intro to Human Genetics" which I thought I was going to do horrible on because the previous exams in that class were so unfairly written, but a lot of the questions were recycled so maybe I didn't do too terrible. Nevertheless, I still don't want to get my hopes up just in case. Now I just have calc 3, which I have to learn by Wednesday and I'm not looking forward to, and an engineering multiple choice test, which barely counts as an exam. And I get my last paper back from "US and the World" so hopefully I scraped a decent grade and the extra credit will boost it up.

Overall though, I think I got pretty lucky with finals in my first year of college. Last semester I only had 2, though they were both hard ones, and this semester I have 2 hard ones and 1 easy one. Or maybe I just don't get as stressed out about them as other people. First of all, I am a skilled procrastinator, so that saves me a week or two of anxiety before finals, and then before you know it they are over, so no more to worry about. And second, in the long run, it doesn't really matter how well I do, as long as I live my life. Today Coach was driving some of us home from practice, and he can be kind of a scary driver sometimes, and Kelly made some joking remark about how if we were killed in a car accident, at least we wouldn't have to take finals. Then that transitioned into the subject of Coach's brother's roommate committing suicide the week before finals a few years ago. He just mentioned it so bluntly, and it was kind of shocking, but not necessarily surprising. I find I am not really surprised by anything, or maybe I am just really accepting or something, I dunno.

So anyways, this got me thinking about how if I were to commit suicide (WHICH I AM NOT!), would I be missed? I mean, sure, people would be sad and my parents would miss me and a few of my best friends, but would their life be any worse without me? I feel like people would think it was so tragic and whatever, but I don't add anything. I mostly just lurk in the background. I live vicariously through other people, and I am there for them if they need it, but why would they pour out their secrets to me if it's not reciprocated? I know that I am a trustworthy person, but it doesn't really matter what I think, it's what I do, or else no one knows about it. I don't know why it's so hard for me to open up to people though. I think part of it is the fact that I don't do anything interesting, and I guess part of me likes being mysterious, for some subconscious reason. I didn't mean to get off on that little tangent there, I was just thinking about stuff and trying to write it down so maybe someday I will finally figure out what I've been trying to say for so long.

On a completely unrelated note, today this was on Fmylife.com:

"Today, I sent everyone a text on my phone book saying, "Happy Star Wars Day!!!
May the Fourth be with you!!" I forgot to uncheck my exgirlfriend's number. She
texted back, "one of the many reasons I broke up with you." FML"

I thought that was cute, I wish there were more guys like that. Of course, I would probably never know if there were because I don't know how to have real conversations with most people. I have never actually heard of Star Wars Day, but I am a Harry Potter fan so I can relate. I wonder if he knows about nerdfighting.

Well, it has gotten extremely late, and I have extremely early morning practice, so I am going to try to sleep now. The past 2 nights I haven't slept well because I am sick, so we'll see how it goes. One more day to learn math, let's hope I'm not too tired to take anything in!

Song of the day: All-American Rejects--Gives You Hell

Sunday, May 3, 2009

I think I forgot how to come up with titles...

Happy May, peoples of the world! Today is my good friend/pseudosister's birthday as well! I think that's a good word, pseudosister. I have 4 friends that are like sisters to me, and I when I think about other people, the word friend seems too strong, because I hold it up to the standards of my pseudosisters. In reality, these other people should be my "friends" even though they are not on the level of my "true" friends.

Here is my unofficial "mission statement" from my first blog post:

"I'm not really sure what I'll write in here yet, and I don't feel like
making any rules or goals that will inhibit my desire to continue blogging.
It will hopefully be a process of self-discovery and just an outlet for me,
and I'll probably experiment a little until I figure out how best to go
about this whole blogging idea."
I would like to go back to that: no rules. After BEDA, it feels like I have to write a novel about my life for it to be considered a real post, but I used to just write a little paragraph when something was on my mind.

But today, I actually do have some things to write about. First, yesterday we had a regatta in Grand Rapids. It's nice that it hasn't been raining at every regatta. It was a little windy though. Neither of my boats medaled, but our first race, the WV4, was pretty unfair, and our second race, the WV8 went a little better. We got to go to the finals at least, and we held our own against OSU's boat for a good half of the race, which is a big improvement. My partner's footstretchers broke though because we were not in our usual boat, and we had to stop the race and get it fixed and then do the race later. Some people in my boat were so sad that we didn't medal that they were crying. I know how they feel because I used to cry after every swimming race last year when I failed at getting a good time. I think that was more about me not achieving a goal though, not about winning or losing. I never expect to win, and if we do, good, if not, no big deal. I judge us by how well we did compared to last time, and if it was fun/worth it.

Next, today was boat unloading. I'm glad I got to go outside and enjoy the weather for a while. I don't want to study today, but I know I have to. I think I have a cold, and I just feel disgusting. My nose is so stuffy and my mouth tastes bad and last night I didn't sleep as good as I would have liked, so today when I finally do start studying, I'll probably feel like falling asleep.

And my parents are coming up today to move a lot of my stuff out, including my entertainment center, probably my fridge and some clothes and my nightstand/drawer-thingy. So I have to pack up a bunch of stuff which gives me even less time to study, and I'm probably going to fail my exam tomorrow! Luckily this one will have more similar questions to the ones on the previous exams since it is the final so I can study the old questions, but knowing my teacher, this test will be just as badly written so I don't have much of a chance.

Song of the day: What Would You Say--Dave Matthews Band

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Day Thirty! (The End)

Wow, last day! I can't believe it has already been a whole month, and pretty successful. It's kind of ironic, how my last paper of the semester was due today, as if it were a test to see if I had gotten better at writing. Since it is the last day of BEDA, I figured I would compile a list of conclusions I have drawn about my particular blogging style, and perhaps some things I have learned about myself in the process. I mean, what is the point of doing something for 30 days if you don't learn from it, right? But before I begin, you have to see this awesome video!

Let's start with some basic statistics:
# of days missed: 2 (only for lack of internet access, I promise!)
# of days late: 2 (no excuse really, sorry!)
I must say, that's a pretty decent job. We must always remember that no one is perfect.

And now, specially presenting:

  • CONCLUSIONS I HAVE DRAWN FROM BEDA:
    When in doubt, I most often write about rowing, food, and about how I am bad at writing/can’t think of anything to say.
  • It seems I am very self-centered, I always write about my life and what happened today rather than addressing issues in the world or writing poetry or fiction/fanfiction. (For the record I have never ever written fanfiction). I believe the reason I write about myself is because I know quite a lot about myself, and everything else takes research/time/effort.
  • I probably come across dumber than I am. I know a lot more grammar than many people (for instance, the difference between your and you’re), but sometimes I write run-on sentences and such. Or maybe it’s the other way around, and I am just dumber than I like to think.
  • I have realized blogging for me is mostly for when I have something to complain about, so I can quickly write it down and vent without having to annoy other people in my life with it, and you can choose to read it or not. I don’t know for the life of me how columnists can come up with something new and substantial to write about every day!
  • I am not funny. Don’t get me wrong, I have a sense of humor, I just feel that if I try to be witty, it doesn’t come across right. And it’s not like many people (if any) read this, so who am I trying to entertain?
  • I am not very creative with titles. Sometimes I would think of a good one, but I like consistency so on the off-days when I wouldn’t have had a good title, there was always a generic title. I might start titling my blog posts with random unrelated things if I don’t come up with anything now that BEDA is over and I don’t have a fallback plan, because there must ALWAYS be a title! My 11th grade English teacher suggested “My Little Pony” or “The Eagles’ Greatest Hits: Vol. II” if we couldn’t think of anything. I would like to come up with a few of my own.
  • I go off topic a lot, and my thoughts do not flow well. I am hoping this gets better the more I write.
  • I tend to write at the end of my day, for fear that I will have nothing to write about so I can always have a fallback plan and write about my day. That’s not the best plan in the world, seeing as most of my days are very similar: rowing, eat, shower, class, eat more, sometimes swing dancing or a cute anecdote, and wishing I could get more sleep.
  • I don’t know if BEDA made me a better blogger, worse blogger, or just the same. Overall, I would say it was a worthwhile experience. I don’t know if I’ll continue the tradition next year, but it was fun while it lasted. Very distracting though, with the unlimited supply of new blogs to read when I was bored (a.k.a. avoiding homework).

So there you have it! Now I can get on with my life and blog about more interesting things when I happen to think of them. Actually they will probably be just as uninteresting, but whatever, you know what I mean.

In other news, my rowing clothing order came today, and the sweatpants are SO COMFY! :)

Song of the day: Into the Sunshine--Julia Nunes

HAHAAAHAHHHAHAHAAHHAAHAHAHAHA did anyone get Hankroll'd at the beginning? Probably I will just come across this post in the future and fall for it myself seeing as I have no regular readers that I know of, or maybe the link won't even work. Okay, I am really thirsty, so TTFN!

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Day Twenty-Nine.

Second-to-last day of BEDA! I feel that this post should say something worthwhile rather than the general ramble/rant/complain/bore-you-to-death. It's crunch time! I have a paper due tomorrow at 12:40 so I have just over 17 hours to write it. Luckily it's really only an "extension" of the last two papers, with 6 paragraphs added on. As an engineering major, this is actually quite a relief. I never thought I would be able to write a 10-page paper, ever. Who knows if it will even be 10 pages, probably not, but it's only supposed to be 9-18, and if I use courier new font like usual, it makes things a lot easier. Too bad the first 2/3 of my paper are really bad, but I am not going to rewrite them because 1) that would take too long, and 2) they would turn out just as bad the second time, so I'm not going to waste the time. I kind of wish I had more sleep in me, having gotten less than 4 hours last night and knowing I will have to stay up the whole night to finish. But I was at swing dancing and rowing, and that is more important that paper-writing, of course. And I don't drink energy drinks or coffee, so I will probably be munching on food all night and listening to songs on my iTunes and/or Pandora. It makes me feel better though that so many people go through this paper-writing ritual, as featured in MJ's blog: How to Write a Final Paper. Currently I am procrastinating by watching YouTube videos and writing this entry. I am pretty much a professional procrastinator (try saying THAT 5 times fast!), having a lot of experience from high school. It's like a competition; usually I start out okay, but then the next time I have to do a paper/project I think "well, I did this last time and finished it..." so then I end up in that mindset, and I end up starting even LATER, which is VERY BAD.

While on YouTube, I discovered a trailer for a new Alexis Bledel movie, "Post Grad" and it looks pretty good. The song at the end sounded good, so I looked it up, and was very excited that it was one of my iTunes free singles of the week that I hadn't listened to very much! Yay for good music that is free! I always download the free single of the week, even if it's not really my style. I mean, you never know if one day it's going to become popular and you will be glad you got it for free, and if you don't like it, you don't have to put it on your iPod. Simple as that. Speaking of iTunes, I have some gift card money for that, but I don't know what to spend it on.

In other news, I am very behind on my podcast-listening. I haven't had time since I ride my bike to class instead of walking, and I don't have time during the day because if I am doing other stuff I don't usually listen to people talking. If I am not hearing what they are saying, what is the point of listening at all?

Darn, three whole paragraphs and nothing interesting yet. But I'm determined.
Must. Keep. Blogging...

Maybe now would be a good time to search out a question/topic to write about. How come I am so eager to blog, yet I can't seem to ever get around to writing about how the U.S. moved from isolation to an international role? Oh right, because that's even more boring than my own life,. well, at least to me. And it also takes some research, which is work. Pressing on...

Well I have looked through some questions and some of them looked interesting, but I realized I don't have time to be analyzing pointless things just for the fun of it. Who are we kidding, I am not a writer, I am just keeping track of my life on the internet. So I might as well talk about rowing. What a surprise!

Today we rowed our four again, and the second half of practice our set FINALLY got better! It was so exciting. I hope we get to row the four at practice a lot, since we are rowing it at the next 3 regattas. Speaking of regattas, one of them is 2 weeks after school gets out and I still have to ask someone if I can crash in thier apartment for that time. I am not "friends" with anyone who has an apartment, so it is kind of awkward for me, but lots of people have to do it, and I'm NOT staying at the crew house...eww. And I also have to figure out when I am moving all my stuff out of my dorm. I know, I know, more procrastination. It's been about an hour and a half since I started writing this blog post, so I guess it's time to finally start my paper... :( Let's hope my internet doesn't die on me just when I need it, as it seems to be slightly malfunctioning.

Song of the day: Show Me What I'm Looking For--Carolina Liar

Day Twenty-Eight.

Okay, technically this is late, but only by 2 minutes and since I wasn't logged in I forgot for a second this window was up, and I haven't gone to bed yet, so it's still today.

So today I got to have afternoon practice instead of morning practice so we could row our four before the weekend and have more attention from coach to fix things and because we don't have enough boats to row all the fours at once. But I was supposed to be back by 7 so I could go to swing dancing at 7:30, but of course I wan't back on time. We were a little late getting there because our coxswain was taking a nap and didn't answer her phone. And then coach asked me why I needed to be back by 7 and I said "swing dancing" and it sounded like a lame excuse, but I go every week and I already told people I was going. It was disappointing though because it was the last meeting of the semester and the guy that I really like to dance with didn't even ask me to dance once. And apparently he's graduating. I'm not bitter though. A lot of people who have graduated still come I think, so maybe he'll be around next year, and it's not like I ever talked to him at all anyways. He was just really good at dancing and he seemed really nice, and he was pretty cute. I just feel stupid though because I don't know the formalities of being human. Like, how are you supposed to just approach people you don't know and talk to them and become friends with them? I am just too shy, and it's part of me that is really hard to change. And rowing is my "main activity", where swing dancing is only my "secondary activity" so I don't feel like I need to be as much of a part of it or something, even though I should probably try to talk to people more no matter where I'm at. This is the kind of thing I was talking about yesterday, why I don't want to write about stupid things I do and/or regret not doing and I know it's going to sound silly when I read it back in the future...

That was a long paragraph--I should probably break it up, but I don't feel like it.

Song of the day:
Second Chance--Shinedown

Monday, April 27, 2009

Day Twenty-Seven.

Michigan weather is so fickle! It decides to be BEAUTIFUL yesterday and this morning, and now it is gusting wind and thunderstorming. And I have to go meet my friend who lives all the way across campus to get my math notes back because I have a test tomorrow (which I am going to fail miserably). And I have to pick up a note for her on the way so she can get a final exam changed, which puts me even more out of my way. I don't want to complain though, I wanted to go anyway, I'm just mad at the weather because it's too windy to use an umbrella and it's going to be horrible to ride my bike in, but that's the fastest way, and my computer says it's 82 degrees and sunny back home. It's kind of sad that I have to blog about weather 2 days in a row because I have nothing to talk about. Weather really is a big part of Michigan though, so that will by my lame excuse.

I guess there is other stuff that I want to talk about, but I haven't for fear of sounding like a stereotypical adolescent girl with hormones raging, and reading it back sometime in the future and knowing how stupid I sounded. Also, admitting something makes it more real and I like keeping it in my head for now. This paragraph really isn't helping anything, so I think I'm going to move on now.

I could always talk about rowing if all else fails. I realize I get to watch the sunrise every single morning on a beautiful (but not as beautiful as Tennessee) river, which is something most people don't get to experience. It would be kind of romantic, too bad I don't have a special someone to share it with. Well, there are 4 or 8 other girls in my boat, but that's not what I mean of course. Today I got to row in the varsity 4, which is an honor to me, but I don't feel like I am contributing anything to it. It would be better if we got to practice in it more, but unfortunately we don't.

Well I guess I'm going to get ready to venture into the miserable wind and rain now.

Song of the day: Don't Look Back in Anger--Oasis

Sunday, April 26, 2009

Day Twenty-Six.

I love nice weather! I love being barefoot outside and not having to grab a jacket when I leave the room. I mean, it's not perfect today, but it's warm enough, and hopefully it won't rain again. But I think we all live for those perfect gorgeous days. And when it's horrible outside, it's only so that we can appreciate the good days that much more. I think this also applies to life. We go through all these bad things so that we can appreciate the good things in our lives.

Today I slept in a lot, which was really really nice for a change. I got up around 11 and got ready and ate some brunch and then I planned on working on my paper or at least doing some homework, but of course I got distracted by facebook and I was talking to my friend on AIM about rowing and other stuff. Then we went to church and I borrowed her skirt to wear to swing dancing on Tuesday, which is the last one of the semester so I thought I should dress up.

Now I am going to plan my schedule for next year, which is going to suck, but at least I will have some idea of what I'm taking...

I can't believe how fast April is going--only 4 more days of BEDA after today!

I think have made up my mind to do a song of the day (or of the post when I am not blogging every day) instead of a random whatever of the day from now on, because that is less consistent and takes more effort to come up with something new, and I think it will be fun to look at what songs were in my head when I post. So yeah, I'm settling on that.

Song of the day: Message in a Bottle--The Police

Saturday, April 25, 2009

Day Twenty-Five.

Windy-Indy sure was fun! The water sucked and was so choppy, a boat even sank! I felt really bad for those girls because that was some cold water, but at least it was warm outside compared to Frostbite when we had a four that flipped which I thankfully was not in. I think most of our boats came in last, but it was still a good time.

I am beginning to like long van rides and the team bonding that takes place. There are groups of people who generally end up in the same vans and I am getting to know them better. I think that's how all the varsity rowers became so close when they talk of the fun of spring racing. I mean, you wouldn't think sitting in a van all cramped up for hours on end would be fun, but you do get really close because what other choice do you have?

I can't wait until next year when I am varsity and I get to have an awesome jacket and we get to recruit new rowers and see who stays and who doesn't. I'm not too anxious, though--I still want to have a summer break and I'm definitely not looking forward to 17 credits and a Friday afternoon class, and hopefully a job. I still don't know if I want a car either, because I would be obligated to drive to practice, but then it would also be easier to go home quuicker if I needed to. I am kind of spoiled though, because I know my parents would pay for it even if we really can't afford it. It's kind of sad how I am planning my life around rowing...

Friday, April 24, 2009

Day Twenty-four.

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

Ok I feel a little better now. I hate not being able to organize my thoughts in an orderly fashion, first of all because I don't know what I'm thinking half the time, and because I don't have time to think about what I'm thinking. Sometimes I think that I think in feelings and vibes rather than in words. And sometimes I'll have a song in my head and realize that I'm just humming ignorantly rather than being aware of what I am thinking.

I have a test in about an hour that I haven't finished studying for and I'll probably fail because I did really bad on the last one. It's definitely my teacher's fault though...he writes really bad questions. But last time I studied a lot, and the time before that I did better and I barely studied at all. So maybe somewhere in the middle is best. We'll see how it works out.

I am going to Indianapolis today for rowing, so I may not be able to post tomorrow, but I probably will if everything goes according to the schedule.

Thing of the day:
Sorry I can't come up with anything. hehe

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Day Twenty-Three.

I would consider today fairly productive (at least compared to most days). I finally washed my tennis shoes that I wear to rowing, and now they are not muddy anymore, and a little whiter than before, but they smell a bit like bleach and will probably never completely dry. I don't know if you can put shoes in the dryer, but I didn't want to try. So it looks like I will have to wear a different pair of shoes to the boathouse tomorrow and probably get them muddy. I think it might be a good idea to wear flip-flops.

I also did some other laundry, read some chapters for my exam tomorrow, took a nap, and went to a rowing fundraiser at Mongolian BBQ. I felt kind of in the way, and I spent a fortune on dinner when I already have an unlimited meal plan, but it was fun. I would have stayed the whole time, but I am drowning in things to do which I keep putting off, so at least I showed up at all.

Now I am just sitting here wondering what else to write and wasting time, so I need to get back to reading (I hate the word studying) before I am too tired to do so. I feel like all of my blog posts end like this. I am kind of glad there is only a week left of BEDA; I feel like my entries will become considerably more meaningful.

Hot guy of the day (focus on the right half of the picture...umm, duh):

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

Day Twenty-Two.

I am running out of time! Only two weeks left until school is out and I have so much to do. I have an exam on Friday, I have a huge paper due next week, I have a math exam, an engineering project due soon, and then it's final exams! Not to mention, I have to plan my whole schedule for next year. I don't know how I manage to waste so much time being lazy when I should be studying. That's what college is about after all... I don't really know though, I feel like I am here for the experience more than the actual learning. I have no idea what I want to do with my life. I am just going with the flow and hoping everything works itself out. I think life is more about living than being flustered all the time, so I should enjoy it. Even if it gets me nowhere, at least I'll be happier than if I had wasted my prime years being uptight and preparing for later when I'm going to have a "real" job and it's just going to be boring anyways. Maybe it won't be boring, but let's face it--I am a really boring person, and college surrounds me with plenty of interesting people. Maybe I should just go join the circus or something...I mean I can do cartwheels and kind of juggle and I've always wanted to learn to ride a unicycle. Wow this entry is weird. Haha


Random thing of the day:

P.S.: Happy EARTH DAY!

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Day Twenty-One.

I need to wash my shoes. They are still wet from the regatta this weekend and they have smelled up my whole room. And it is still raining on and off, so it is going to be wet outside all week. I think the weekend is supposed to be lovely though, which is lucky because it's not fun to have a regatta in the rain. Ewww...

Today was my last chem lab of the semester, so next Tuesday I will have a huge block of free time! That would be exciting, except I am dreading the paper that is due next Thursday (coincidentally on the last day of BEDA). So far I have done my papers the night before, and as much as I want to change my ways, I don't know if it's actually going to happen.

I should be using this time wisely, seeing as I left swing dancing early because I was tired and I have a take-home quiz due tomorrow...school is so stressful!

I'm hungry. So that's it for today.

Awesome thing of the day:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4BDVbxop-eo&feature=related
I can't wait for Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince movie!!!!!

Monday, April 20, 2009

Day Twenty.

I feel like I am so busy right now that I am just doing nothing. I planned on being productive today and reading/studying while I wasn't tired, but instead, I wasted it all. That's the thing that sucks about having an amazing weekend: you don't want to come back to reality. I can't wait until school is done, then I can just be free and not have deadlines. Although I really really really need to find a job and I don't know how that's going to happen.

Here's a funny exchange between me and a friend from last week:
[In the cafeteria]
Me: “I kind of want to get another cookie, but I really shouldn’t. Today I stole two muffins from the cafe because they were apple cinnamon and I love them.”
Friend: “I love the way you tell stories…you make them sound interesting”
Me: “That wasn’t interesting. Other people have real stories, but that’s all I have so I have to make it sound better. Ok well, I’m gonna get another cookie, I haven’t had them in a long time since I gave them up for lent.”

The last line is not verbatim, I just forgot how I said it, but you get the idea. I am really boring.

Apparently my mom got a letter from the bank today saying there was an overdraft charge on my checking account, which is ridiculous, because I have been keeping track of my money well enough that this should not be a problem. I hate paperwork... :(

Tomorrow is really busy, so I am going to go to bed, which I should have done a long time ago. And I missed 11:11 when I could have made a wish. I don't know if I believe in that stuff, but it's fun to do anyway and hope something fun happens.

Cool thing of the day:
Using aluminum containers/mint-boxes to keep stuff in, like a wallet.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Day Nineteen.

So I definitely thought I would be back earlier than this, but it's about midnight. I don't have morning practice tomorrow though!

I just checked and found out I have some BEDA buddies, so hello there! Sorry I am so late...

Thursday, April 16, 2009

Day Sixteen.

I just found a Taco Bell kid's meal bag from spring break and decided to throw it away. I'm not sure why I was saving it, or if I just forgot about it, but it was kind of sitting in plain sight. I guess I'm just that used to garbage. The kid's meal bags are still the same ones that they have had for years, since I was still a KID getting kid's meals. They have an on-the-road scavenger hunt type thing, where you have to check off certain things you see on the drive home like a mailbox, a cow, at fire hydrant, etc. I was going to do that on the 24-hour van ride on spring break, but I never got around to it. It would have been boring anyway and we were on the expressway for most of it.

Speaking of long van rides, I am leaving today at midnight to go to Tennessee for rowing! This regatta is supposed to be really big so I am excited to experience that. I will probably be back at some ridiculous time Saturday night/early Sunday morning, so I will have to miss days 17 and 18 of BEDA. If you get assigned to be my BEDA buddy and you are reading this, I promise you I will be back as soon as possible on Sunday, but I will probably be very tired and write about how tired I am and about rowing and it probably won't be very entertaining...so I would like to apologize for that in advance.

Urghahla;lahghawieoh...I keep typing adn instead of and, which is becoming REALLY FRUSTRATING!

Random meme just for fun (well, actually to take up space):

Using only song titles from ONE ARTIST, cleverly answer these questions. Try not to repeat a song title. It's harder than you think.

Pick Your Artist: KT Tunstall (even though I have only ever heard 4 of her songs, but they are good!)

Are you male or female: Girl And The Ghost
Describe yourself: Beauty Of Uncertainty
How do you feel about yourself: If Only
Describe where you currently live: Golden Age
If you could go anywhere, where would you go: Hollywood Hill
Your favorite form of transportation: Paper Aeroplane
Your best friend is: Another Place To Fall
Your favorite color is: Black And White
What's the weather like: Silent Sea
Favorite time of day: Through The Dark
If your life was a tv show, what would it be called: Black Horse And The Cherry Tree
What is life to you: Moment Of Madness
What is the best advice you have to give: Hold On
If you could change your name, what would it be: Barbie
Your favorite food is: Other Side Of The World
Thought for the Day: Suddenly I See
How I would like to die: Saving My Face
My soul's present condition: Stoppin' The Love
The faults I can bear: Universe & U
My motto: Throw Me A Rope

I'm going to take a leaf out of hayleyghoover's book today:
Sexy: Unicyclists.
Unsexy: guys who ride their bikes with no hands through crowds of walking people just to show off.

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Day Fifteen.

Halfway through BEDA already! I am really excited to get a BEDA-buddy! And happy tax day in America, but that doesn't really apply to me since I don't have a job or anything, and my parents got theirs out of the way in February or something.

I don't have much to say today. I have been putting this off all day waiting for something interesting to happen, or maybe stuff did happen and I just downplayed it so much that it all became boring. My mom and my friend's mom came up to visit today and we went out to lunch at Cosi. She came I think mostly to take some of my stuff home so it wouldn't be such a hassle when I have to move out of the dorm, but she only told me yesterday and I didn't have much she could bring home at the moment. She just ended up taking home some old books and papers, my TV since I don't have cable so I don't watch it, and some fold-up chairs that were taking up space under my bed which have only been used like twice.

I finally did much-needed laundry today, and all of it is sitting on my bed so I will have to put all of that away before I go to sleep, and hopefully I will finish my extra credit paper too so I can take a long nap tomorrow before I have to leave at midnight to go to Tennessee for a regatta. I feel bad for the drivers; I get to sleep in the van all the way down if I want. Unfortunately, Friday and Saturday I will not be able to blog because I will not have internet access :( It's not a lack of motivation or anything, I just can't. Maybe I will try to do an extra-long post on Sunday to make up for it.

I am going to go finish stuff before bed and maybe take the Narcissistic quiz (http://www.usatoday.com/news/health/2009-03-16-pinsky-quiz_N.htm)!

Quote of the day:
Hearts, Stars, and Horseshoes, Clovers, and Blue Moons, Pots of Gold and Rainbows, and me Red Balloons!
-Lucky Charms

Tuesday, April 14, 2009

Day Fourteen.

I am not very fond of April showers, even if they do bring May flowers. I guess it wouldn't be AS bad if it was warmer out, but it's such a pain. I have to row in the rain in the morning, and then I am soaked and shivering through breakfast until I get to take a nice hot shower and put on dry clothes. Then I go to class, just to get wet again. I like to shift around a lot in my seat, and it is very uncomfortable when I can't sit on my leg because the bottom of my pants are wet so they will make my butt wet. And if I ride my bike, I can't use an umbrella, so my whole head gets wet. Urggg.

More complaining: I am so jealous that my younger brother gets to see Death Cab for Cutie in concert at MY school! I can't go because I have a regatta. A friend bought some tickets and I was hoping I would be able to go, but no... And then my brother gets invited by my cousin, and it's so unfair! Urggg. Sorry for the mini-rants, but this is my blog, I can say whatever I want and you can choose whether or not to read it.

Hmmm...there must be something positive to say today. Oh yes, they had apple cinnamon muffins in the caf today (best muffins ever)! I get way too much enjoyment from food. I did eat pretty healthy at breakfast today though. I still have never tried an omelet, and I don't think I can truly be a part of the cult that is crew until I have done that. Don't worry, it's not REALLY a cult.

Thing of the day:
http://www.bubble-struggle.com/

Monday, April 13, 2009

Day Thirteen.

Turns out a few other people didn't do their 2k's on time either, and I didn't end up doing as bad as I thought I was going to. I celebrated that fact by getting ice cream (actually it was sherbet), not like I need a reason to eat ice cream. Speaking of junk food, today they had peanut butter cookies at lunch in the caf, and I can finally have cookies since lent is over! Delicious.

I can't believe I only have 3 weeks left of school. I have so much to do, but I ignore it all until the last minute so I don't really get freaked out by it until I realize I don't have any more time to get it done. Then I lose sleep, which doesn't work very well with rowing.


I was supposed to write about the meaning of life like I mentioned the other day, but I don't really feel like doing that right now. I guess that's part of life, that it's so limited. We all complain about how we don't have enough time, but if life had endless time, it wouldn't be the challenge that it is. We have to learn the most we possibly can while we are here on Earth. I alos believe that life is about connecting with other people. There are almost 7 billion people in the world for a reason. What would be the point of God creating just one person? That's why he created Adam AND Eve. Life is about the feeling you get from sharing with other people. This is not very eloquent. I said I didn't want to write this right now because I knew that would happen, I wouldn't say what I meant, but I wrote it anyway because I know I won't have time later. So much to do, so little time.


Tonight I'm going to try to be productive and get something done that is due on Wednesday (that's a WHOLE DAY early!)

Quote of the day:
"Kind words are the music of the world."
~F. W. Faber

Sunday, April 12, 2009

Day Twelve.

Happy Easter! ^-^


Today was good, but sad because I had to leave my Aunt's house early, right after dinner, so I could come back to school. :(

First, we went to a brunch with my mom's side of the family, and it was nice. I mean, family is family. My I always dread the small talk and repetitive questions: How's college life? How's rowing? What classes are you taking? How are they going? What are you majoring in? Uggg...I don't have any idea where I want to go in my life, so I try to give the most generic answer possible. Ususally they ask multiple questions in a row and I am just like "good," "good," "good."

Then for dinner, we went to dad's sister's for dinner. We are Polish, and every year they make this kielbasa soup that either you like or you don't, and my brother is obsessed with it. I tried it for the first time today, and I only had a spoonful, and it was pretty much what I would have imagined. I prefer to eat all my food witout fatty broth though, and all separately.

I am not a big fan of cooking, because what is the point of wasting time to put something all together just to eat it? I prefer to just eat it all separately. I understand meat needs to be cooked, but like, sandwiches? Just eat the meat and the bread and the cheese and whatever else. This is why candy is good; it's all prepackaged and no cooking involved! I LOVE PEEPS! My favorite Easter candy. Delicious sugary-coated marshmallows! And jelly beans are a close second. Add a bit of chocolate, and you've got all the bases covered.

I was a rebel and didn't do a 2k when I got back to school today, so I'm kinda scared to go to practice tomorrow. I don't really care if coach sticks me in the B-boat, or makes me do push-ups, I just don't want him to freak out and get mad at the whole team because of what I did (or didn't do). And I should have gone to bed and at least gotten a good amount of sleep since I didn't do a 2k, but I was catching up on some blogs that I didn't read at home over the weekend. Oh, BEDA, look what my life has become.

Sweet pic of the day:

Day Eleven.

Yeah, friends are more important than BEDA when you haven't seen them in almost 3 months. So that's why this is late, but it's not late on the west coast!

So while I was seeing my BESTEST FRIENDS today, I had the most delicious cinnamon roll/ice cream dessert at Ram's Horn. Yummmm. I wanted another one! And a chocolate milk shake and some sherbet! I love desserts way too much. When I stop rowing, I'm gonna get fat, because I'll be used to eating so much and then working it off for 2 hours every day.

Sorry Jordan, if today is the day you are commenting on every single blog and mine was late and you happen to come upon it and read it anyway and it's boring.

Today I also went to church twice. At my church, the theme this year was"garbage" and basically how God takes the trash inside all of us and transforms it into something that makes us beautiful. And the beginning was like STOMP/Blue Man Group. It was awesome. My church is not like a normal sit down, stand up, same exact thing every week kind of church, they really go all out to make "unchurch people" feel welcome and just be able to check out the whole God thing at their own pace. Then I went to Easter vigil at my friend's church and we went out to dessert after, which is when I had the AMAZING cinnamon swirl sundae thing. I can't wait for summer when I can see my best friends all the time, they are sisters to me! Reading it back, this whole paragraph kind of sounds lame, but whatevs.

I wish I liked writing and had time so this whole BEDA thing wouldn't be so boring, but I'm committed, and I'm not giving up, even if I am late.

Awesome videos of the day:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-VgW4Knb5s&feature=related
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=US7c9ASVfNc